We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Pineapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I had a wonderful weekend stay at the Brass Pineapple with friends. My room was very cozy and unique (claw foot tub in room), the front porch was relaxing, the food was delicous, with lots of attention to detail (cinnamon sticks provided for tea). Great location near the capitol building and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

I met friends for a weekend stay at this bed and breakfast. The breakfast was delicious, the room cozy and comfortable (I stayed in the English Gentleman), and the surrounding area very charming. Sitting on the front porch for a morning cup of coffee in the quiet, pleasant surrounding was wonderful. There is a nearby running/walking path along the river, and shopping and dining were very close by.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinneaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This is our second stay at the B&B. Laura and Lisa catered to our every need. Great breakfast and afternoon refreshments. Conveniently located 1/2 block from capital. Great for walking, site seeing and close to many restaurants. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mawbell62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

A collegue recommended "the pineapple" whclose started traveling to Charleston close to 2 years ago. I come to town almost monthly and stay here every time. The location, cozy atmosphere and genuine hospitality of Lisa, Laura and everyone there makes it feel like a home away from home. There is nothing better than the homemade organic green tea and a veggie plate on the front porch after a work day. And they even have wireless Internet!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Lovely home with beautiful woodwork and furnishings. Afternoon tea items are such a welcome treat. Convenient location, within walking distance to the WV Capital. Warm hospitality in a quiet elegant setting. The hospitality is so very gracious. Each visit to Charleston, I call the Brass Pineapple to check for room availability. I stay several times a year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpthelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Arrived at the Bed and Breakfast owner was not present the entire weekend. Still had Christmas decorations mid January. we were the only guests. sheets were very wrinkled on bed, not sure if they had been changed. stains on comforter, floors not that clean and bath curtain moldly. arrived 1am first night, stayed second because we had to go to an event. tried to contact owner to discuss situation and inform her we were checking out. unable to reach owner by phone or email. Clearly not engaged with her business. Owner charged us two weeks after we left. Then over charged the nightly fee and charged us for 3 nights not to. Took several days for owner to answer my emails asking for her to credit my funds back. Finally she answered saying no. I have stayed in bed and breakfast all over the world. This by far the worst experience I have ever had. I will never say here again. And can not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chhudsonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed there twice; once on our way to the East Coast and then again on our way back home. If we happened to be traveling through Charleston again we might stay there again...but we wouldn't travel out of our way for it. It's definitely a unique experience, but I would cautiously recommend it.

It was very easy to locate and parking was easy. Check in and check out was easy. Very cozy and quiet with unique furnishings and stained glass windows. We enjoyed visiting with other guests and Steve, the innkeeper, was friendly. Both rooms had charming decor and more than ample pillows, bedding and linens. Breakfast was delicious but the quantity was kind of small. Breakfast was served no earlier than 8am, which is a little late for those wishing to hit the road early. Bundt cake for a late night snack was delicious.

Both rooms had mattresses that were way too soft for us. High beds were pushed up against a wall, making it difficult for one person to get in and out. Small amount of mildew in showers. Spotted carpeting in Victorian Rose room.

We stayed in the English Gentleman and Victorian Rose rooms, and if I had to choose, I would stay in the English Gentleman again.

I would not stay in the Victorian Rose room again because of the shower situation. The clawfoot tub and shower looked fun at first, but when I got in it, I realized that the slightly mildewed shower curtain was clinging to me all around and I couldn't do anything about it because the space is just so small. And I am not a very large person. Took a super quick shower and was glad to get out.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandandseawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
1.7 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#7 of 23 in Charleston
148 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Pineapple Inn

Address: 1611 Virginia St E, Charleston, WV 25311-2113
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $201 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brass Pineapple Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brass Pineapple Inn-Historic Stately Accommodations with Modern Amenities. Rooms have 12 foot ceilings, beautiful lighting, sturdy wood beds, private bathrooms. Breakfast Included with Room Rate. Meals and Room Service Available. Award winning accommodations. Guests include Good Morning America, Arts & Entertainment Television, PBS, Mountain Stage, Delloitte & Touche, MeadWestvaco, Bayer, Toyota, Producers from Oprah Winfrey Network. Conveniently located only 3 blocks from I-77/I-64, 3 Miles from Yeager Airport, 1/2 Block from State Capitol Complex, 1 Mile from Downtown, 3/4 Mile from Clay Center, 1.5 Miles from Civic Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Pineapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Pineapple Bed And Breakfast
Brass Pineapple Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing