We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable atmosphere and food”
Review of Su-Tei

Su-Tei
Ranked #32 of 276 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hurricane, WV
Level Contributor
313 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Enjoyable atmosphere and food”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have an eclectic group so a wind range of orders but everyone enjoyed their food. From several different curries to bento boxes we were all pleased. The warm plum saki is delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flt587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Find In Charleston, WV”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Dinner was very enjoyable at the Su-Tei Thai Restaurant in Kanawha City this evening.
Of course both of or dinners included seafood, our favorite.
My wife had the shrimp and scallops and vegetables Hibachi style and fried rice.
And I had the shrimp and pineapple fried rice served in a half of a pineapple.
Included with each dinner was a small soup and a small salad.
The soup was a chicken based broth with mushrooms and scallions.
And the salad had the traditional Thai Peanut and ginger dressing and both were delicious as well.
The Iced Tea, eh, not so much, very much like water, and I will order water next time.
Our tab came to just over $40.00 not counting the tip and we had no alcohol or deserts.
A few dollars on the high side for here, but for the occasional dinner in a very nice atmosphere with great food, its doable and we will return for sure.
And they have a sushi bar for you bait eaters and a very attractive bar.
The entire place has a very metropolitan oriental feel and look on the inside.
Don't be fooled by the outside, its been a Ponderosa and a Blockbuster Video before.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamblinPapaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

One of Charleston's hidden gems! The food is amazing and the atmosphere is quiet and welcoming. My wife and I ate here on a whim and are so glad we did. If you live/work in Charleston, or are just passing through, you MUST give Su Tei a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine Asian food in Charleston, WV”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Celebrated my birthday with close friends and family members at Su-Tei and it was fantastic. We shared the American Dream roll which was superb. The restaurant is beautiful inside with a sushi bar, sit down dining as well as a full service bar. Service and food were excellent. There was a jazz musician on hand that evening. Music was enjoyable, not too loud. Would definitely recommend for a great dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Thai and Asian Food”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I really enjoy the food at this restaurant, especially the curries. It is a good place for Asian food of multiple types.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank edchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su-Tei also viewed

 

Been to Su-Tei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing