We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Host Inn Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budget Host Inn Charleston
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Louisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

A perfect no frills place to sleep. Ask for a room facing the river and wake up to birds singing and fantastic scenery. Room smells smokey. Water fluctuates in temp. No frills. Three steps to the parking space. Free wifi. For the price I could stay two nights for the price of one. For my tastes ... Wifi ... Easy in n out ... Very quiet ... Incredible nature views ... Great sleep ... This is a perfect place to stay and a bargain to boot.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
15
26
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

On the lower end of our typical hotel choices (which are pretty low end :)), but it was a great value! It was a hotel with NO frills, but was clean, convenient, and cheap. It's a 10-15 min drive from downtown Charleston, where we had dinner. I probably wouldn't stay at this hotel alone or as a vacation base, but it was fine for our purposes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoboHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this motel on our stay in Charleston. The premises were well maintained, the staff very friendly, the room very clean, only the matress was very hard. The only downfall was that a family with kids stayed next door and the kids were screaming and banging in that room until 2:00am in the morning and were awake and screaming again by 7:00am in front of our door. But this is more the parents responsibility and not the motel. Otherwise the river view was very pretty and we experienced also a thunderstorm with dollar size hail coming out of nowhere. All in all it was a adventures stay. For staying only a couple nights, I refer this motel to everyone with a low budget.

Room Tip: Take a room with the river view. Also make sure you don't have a family with more than one kid n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderstorm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our visit to Charleston last weekend. Very impressed with the cleanliness, quietness and comfort of our room and bath, not to mention the view of the Kanawha River. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room price was very, very attractive and appreciated. Liked it so much, we've made reservations to stay here in September when we travel back from South Carolina for a family reunion. So, the Inn may not have all of the amenities like your high dollar lodgings, but who cares???? It's safe, comfortable and clean. Biscuits and pizza are within a stone's throw. Thanks, Budget Host Inn of Charleston WV.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We staying in two Budget Host Inns on our trip to Myrtle Beach (there and back), both were chosen because of reviews on Tripadvisor. I've got to say, I was so impressed by the value of both properties. For stopovers, especially with an infant, all you want is something clean and affordable and this is what you will get. Immaculate rooms. The Charleston property also has a nice view of the river and mountains. The owner of Charleston BHI wasn't as friendly as his peer down in Wytheville, but still obviously cares about his business and maintaining his property for his customers. The only thing I would say that was a minor inconvenience, would be the big production it is to get to the main strip where all the restaurants and gas stations are, at least according to Google maps.

Room Tip: The river view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great budget motel close to interstate travels and clean safe rooms. hot water and small fridge in rooms. helpful staff and room maid nice too. loved stay definitely will be back!! king beds available and ask for river view if you like tugs and barges. you can't go wrong here. Spotless clean room and bath, too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekndflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are staying at this hotel and even with changing rooms found this place to be very clean with a river view that is simply beautiful! And the tugboats going by are an added plus The staff here go out of their way to make your stay nice. Clean towels and beds. Cameras around the property for safety. And the parking lot and grounds kept neat and trash free. We would highly recommend this hotel. And will continue to stay here as long as the job requires. You won't find a better value anywhere else in Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
5.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
4.4 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn Charleston

Property: Budget Host Inn Charleston
Address: 3313 Kanawha Blvd E, Charleston, WV 25306-6624
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing