We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not eat at any steak house on this exit!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon

Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #170 of 274 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Central, KY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Do not eat at any steak house on this exit!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have now tried both steak houses now on this exit and both have deplorable service. We tried to have a sit down meal after a round of golf. 6 of us; took 2 hours to get service and eat. We were greeted by the hostess who said they were having problems with the wait staff showing up. This should have given us a hint as to what craziness we were about to witness.

By the time we were ask to order we had been seated 35 minutes. It took an additional 45 minutes for the food to arrive. The food was not extraordinary and bland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    9
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great steak stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stop in and have dinner at this location. The steaks were great and the facility was clean. The service was great; even though our waiter was a little annoying, in a good way. I would have given five stars had one of the steaks not had been sent back. Overall a great place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Jhayneswv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although the manager was extremely friendly, greeted all the patrons, the restaurant was hot, dirty and served very average food at best. Salad was wilted...only plus was it was in walking distance from our hotel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieDDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place for drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I didn't eat there, just had drinks. The bartender was friendly and quick. The only complaint I have is that they stop serving drinks without announcing a "last call."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very very very slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for dinner after checking into a nearby hotel. We were seated fairly quickly - it was not crowded. We waited 15 minutes before anyone came to the table. We were ready to leave. Each item took 15-20 minutes even when we asked. I ordered my steak medium. It was a thin steak with no pink, no juices and crisp black coating. We were in the restaurant 1 1/2 hrs and didn't even have a drink or appetizer. Staff was friendly but not much else positive. I wouldn't go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank W42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 
Charleston, WV
Charleston, WV
 
Charleston, WV
Charleston, WV
 

Been to Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing