We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super friendly and super tasty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream

Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 8 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
152 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“super friendly and super tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

no crazy flavors here, just good ice cream served by good people. some of the best tasting ice cream i've had.
great little shop but also a great neighborhood to walk in.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank amyintax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    37
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Espresso coffee with chocolate chunks and almond bits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Need I say more? Really good. Friendly staff, clean, interesting flavors. On a tree lined Boulevard with shaded tables out front. Eat ice cream and watch the people go by. Near perfect.

Helpful?
1 Thank Suetooyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus IN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not the best homemade ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Good homemade ice cream--not the best. They charged me a five percent surcharge to use my debit card.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnMooreColumbusIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular. Just ice cream. Good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Nothing special (and that's not necessarily a bad thing). Cute little place. No extravagant flavors. Ice cream was good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GordonSolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
197 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

A group of us had dinner at Pies and Pints (absolutely great pizza) across the street and stopped by here for dessert. What a great decision as this place had great tasty ice cream. It’s not cheap but it is high quality. I ordered a waffle cone with health and chocolate chip. Perfect combination.

This place is very popular so you may have to stand in line. Well worth the wait. If I ever end up back in Charleston, I will definitely return here. Recommendation - dinner and Pies and Pints and then stop off here for dessert.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKPROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing