We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream in Charleston”

Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 8 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Charleston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Charleston”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is one of Charleston's best. A local ice cream shop that makes it's own ice cream. The ice cream is sinfully good. It also sells sandwiches and other light meal choices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 54Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    37
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“After dinner treat”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I read the reviews and had to try it during my weekend trip to Charleston. The raspberry chocolate chip is so good. I had to go back a second night to try something else, but I couldn't decided and ended up with the raspberry chocolate chip again. The only negative if you use a credit card they charge 5% fee which seems ridiculous this day in age.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love2travel0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Va
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place with great food. Service warm and friendly.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

A really great spot not to be missed. Wonderful desserts with a wide selection. Something for everyone. Try the African vegetable soup; it had great, unusual spices and I totally enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth Checking Out”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The homemade ice cream, sherbets, and sorbets are worth watching for. The offering changes so that you get opportunities for a greater variety of flavors but may have to wait for your favorite to come back.

I hear very positive comments about the soups here but have not tried them myself.

The lemon sorbet is as good as any I had in Rome!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TSKWVU70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Delicious! It's a special treat for our family. Lots of choices, all excellent. Super service in a cute, clean shop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank zajasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing