We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!!!”
Review of Shoney's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shoney's
Ranked #169 of 276 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chapmanville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

First time at shoneys in over a year. Hope it's not that long till we go again. I had the double decker and it was full of flavor. My wife had the seafood bar and enjoyed it also. We will be going back to shoneys on kanawha blvd!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank GracieWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good people; good fellowship”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The waitress, Barb. A very nice, attentive server. She took care of my family. I came with a group (family reunion). She was very thorough and not put out with all our request. She smiled, laugh and share stories of Charleston. Thank you!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good location,good food, great staff,”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were on route from Pennsylvania to Tennessee in June 14, , and stayed overnight at the wyndham hotel,,Having eaten at Shoney's many times we searched out the nearest one,we were met at the door and shown to a great table, Our waitress was Betty, a really great girl, really helpful and took an interest in us straight away - having the odd accents, the meal arrived super speed, and the service faultless, the only thing I wasn't so cool was that the people who sat directly by the salad buffet just kept getting up and taking the food as soon as it was renewed no thought for others who were trying to get theirs,but that's not Shoney's fault! but we were so impressed we visited on our return trip and Betty and the manager Steve ( who was surprised I had noticed he had his hair cut in between our visits) knew us straightaway, knew us, I would recommend this Shoney's handy location,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shazz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have eaten in just about every Shoney's buffet in Florida, North Carolina and many in other states. Of all the outlets visited over the years, this was the best by far. Bar items were fresh and hot, or cold where appropriate; the staff was friendly and attentive. Something I have never before experienced was the offer of an egg (apart from the bar) cooked to order. Aslo, were were offered a 4oz steak for 99 cents, an offer I couldn't refuse! After the meal, the waitperson brought around a selection of whole pies offered for sale. We chose a Peanutbutter pie for the road (mouthwateringly good); something we would never have thought to buy. Don't get the wrong idea, it was not presented as a hard sell pitch, just as a "wouldn't this be tasty later?" kind of thing...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Staff super nice. Food not so nice. Buffet not restocked and not checked the whole time we where there. Had to ask for water refill

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tiggsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

 

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing