We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long wait, so-so service”
Review of Tidewater Grill

Tidewater Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Tidewater Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 277 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Town Center Mall
Kent, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“long wait, so-so service”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We've visited Tidewater Grill many times on our way up or down I77, and generally enjoyed it, but our most recent trip was disappointing. First there was a long 45 minute wait, longer than usual but always annoying given Tidewater is on OpenTable and could take reservations but clearly closes to make their customers wait with beepers instead of taking reservations. Then we ordered a bottle of wine to complement our chosen entree (halibut) only to be told later that they were out of halibut that evening (couldn't our waiter have told us what you were out of earlier?). We were also particularly unimpressed with our waiter, who seemed particularly pretentious yet unhelpful. On the plus side, my yellowfin tuna was very good, and my wife enjoyed her mahi-mahi, but the no-reservation policy, finding out after ordering wine that some entrees were unavailable, and a sub-standard waiter marred the experience. Dining at their sister restaurant Chop House is always a better experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walkerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    179
    77
    49
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lahinch, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Much improvement since last visit”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A little more frequent attention along with great food goes a long way. They got their game on today!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irishyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Charleston Favorite”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Tidewater is probably Charleston's most popular restaurant. As a local who has gone there ever since it opened, I have to agree with some other comments that over time it has had some ups and downs in quality and service. However, overall it is consistently good. We like the bread and salad. I generally have the Snug Harbor Mussels. My wife varies her order. In October, they have a lobster special and we went down about 4 times. In summary, most people should find it a good eating experience with a varied menu and at reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnN146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“decling in quality”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have been going to this restaurant for over twenty years and it seems to be slipping. Went for lunch last week and had a very mediocre salad and very poor service. It took about 45 minuted ti get a salad from the time it was ordered. The rolls are great but the soups and not.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not very good service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Group of 12 - no bread, wrong wine, waitress is lost. Oh my! Bill will include gratuity but I would not pay otherwise. If u want to take a group out to eat, this is not the place. No manager in sight.

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tidewater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing