We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Busy”
Review of Panera Bread

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Panera Bread
Ranked #126 of 277 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
South Riding, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always Busy”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

While in Charleston for a conference, my friends and I had a lunch and a breakfast at the Panera which is conveniently located in the mall, but right across from the Civic Center. Every time we walked by, and both times we ate there, it was quite crowded but it's huge by Panera standards and even with a convention crowd converging on it, there was plenty of seating. My advice would be to try to get there early for lunch to avoid long lines, but otherwise, it's a fine, quick lunch or breakfast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, WI
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“More staff training needed:(”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I tried to order a salad with shrimp. Found out the shrimp were from another country where the are pond raised with other animals, was told all shrimp are bottom feeders. Ordered a spinach salad without the bacon, they put bacon in anyway. I asked for my money back. I normally love Panera...what a disappointment!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistent quality food with a homey atmosphere”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Always a tough choice on which soup and salad. All are good. Enjoy the new line of pasta choices too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
national tour
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistancy Rules”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I love Panera Bread. I always enjoy my meals here. The staff at this one wasn't on top of like some others, but the food was still good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelinglizard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Vegetarian, what?”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

While traveling with my family, we hit the local Panera for dinner. We each placed our order; we are a family of 4. The total was over $40! We took our order to go so we could watch the March Madness basketball game (Go Blue!). When we got back to our hotel, we all dug right in to our yummy dinners. When I opened my Mediterranean vegetarian salad, there was a large piece of fish on top. Now, I'm not actually a vegetarian, I just like this salad. But, the fish was stone cold! And, I've ordered this salad multiple times in other cities and have NEVER received a piece of fish! In fact, several months after we got home, I met a friend for lunch and ordered this salad again, unsure now of what I'd get. This time (for $11!) I got a half order of a salad with tomatoes, no dressing, no side bread and it was about 10 bites! Either there's a problem with this salad, a problem with the way I order it, or there's a problem with this company not being sure of what they serve.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heilig48371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panera Bread also viewed

 

Been to Panera Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing