We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The motel was adequate, I recall it being extremely hot, one of the hottest days in Charleston in a long while. The room air conditioner was struggling to cool the room down. The breakfast was outstanding, had waffles and eggs cooked at tableside. Charleston is tricky to get around in, I highly suggest a GPS to navigate all the attractions. Over all the trip was note worthy and had a chance to learn some important historical events.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhuff53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location of the hotel was fine as we couldnt get anything in Beckley WV, so had to settle for Charleston WV for a hotel. Location was tricky to get to as no great directions or signs to get to it. Once we got there, the hotel was nice, pool and hot tub were PACKED!!, and was walking distance to a few restaurants. The continental breakfast was pretty good and replenished quickly. Quality of the room was nice and roomy.

Room Tip: To get there, make sure you turn into the entrance for the Texas Saloon restaurant.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krumdog89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

It's a bit hard to find this hotel off the highway, at night when it's raining. Alex Lane is not well marked and the hotel is tucked in the back of a plaza next to Country Inn & Suites. I had a reservation. No problems with the reservation but I would've thought that the A/C would have been turned on in advance for a customer with a reservation. Instead the room was hot and stuffy for the first two hours until the A/C could cool off. Otherwise, I was pleased with the hotel, the room and the breakfast area. My room was on the third floor and overlooking the highway but exterior noise was minimal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJIG106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear CJIG106,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the air conditioning not turned on before you arrived. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was large and very clean. We had no problems with noise, at all, but we were on the side opposite from the highway. The Hotel people were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was just fine and plentiful. We did not use the pool or spa, but they looked very inviting, as did the fitness room.

Room Tip: The highway is Very Close to the back side of the Hotel. You might want to be sure to ask for a room...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Check in was a little abrupt with a lack of personality and with no conversation. Asking about breakfast, check out time and how to get a taxi in the morning to the airport looked like it was a stretch by the person that checked me in especially when I didn't know the area. Not the best impression.

Room was lovely, spacious with all the amenities for a nights stay or longer. Room was clean to a standard which is manageable such as clean bed, bathroom and towels. But room hasn't had a deep clean in a couple of weeks as dust galore was present on some of the fixtures. Could hear a little traffic from the road behind but it didn't keep me awake or bother me and it did quieter through the night.

On check out Brenda (think that was her name) was the complete opposite of check in person - Lovely, warm and helpful along with the guy doing breakfast and the general manager whom I spoke to. I'm glad Brenda was the lasting impression of this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank AlwaysOnMyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although my room was beautiful, comfortable, and clean, I would not stay here again. Without a doubt it was the loudest room I've ever stayed in. Not only was it on the highway side and very, very close to the road with all-night traffic, there was also lots of noise from other rooms nearby. No sleep. Zero..

No airport shuttle so expect to pay $20 cash for taxi, no credit cards accepted.


Rough night!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrssimptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear mrssimptom,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our room.

However, We’re sorry about the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for about 3 weeks last spring. I liked the location as it was easy to get most anywhere in Charleston. The neighborhood, South Charleston is small and a great place to walk. The down side is that it is right next to the train tracks in coal country. This means that there is lots of noise at all hours of the day and night. If you are a sound sleeper this will be the place for you.

The restaurant in the hotel serves good food, the exercise room is well appointed, and the pool is lovely. The place has been remodeled recently and is nicely done. The staff were very friendly. It's just those trains...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lrswtsn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear lrswtsn8,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the train noise.

We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well. We are pleased that you did enjoy our well appointed rooms, pool, exercise rooms, restaurant and friendly staff.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Address: 107 Alex Ln, Charleston, WV 25304-2971 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $117 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing