We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise and not a good one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Do not know what this was before they pasted the sign saying Express. We are gold with holiday inn products which says we use them often during each year ie so far we have stayed this year alone in expresses in Il Oklahoma new Mexico Arizona Utah Montana South Dakota Wyoming Iowa west Virginia Virginia Indiana Michigan Ohio and Wisconsin. This One owas not up to average. I requested a top floor and got ground but was informed that was all they had- checked that and not sure that was true. My room faced the cars which were about 10 feet from my bed. I got to listen to the smokers outside by their cars during the night - hmmm thinking that is not a plus. Bed is good and the bathroom counters are granite. The carpet has been replaced. The hot tub was hot and the pool warm and pleasant. The room was not clean- found long hairs and nasty bugs on the bathroom floor and the tub was dirty. The refridgerator had food remmenats in it. I felt like they forgot to clean the room. There was white stuff on parts of the carpet like they had tried to clean up puke or cover up previous animal occupants - could not tell. DH never complains about a place and he was not happy with the state of our room. I chose this because it was convenient to the turnpike and that is the good part about the place. The lady doing breakfast was on top of things and very pleasant.
I think this could be okay but they need to monitor the cleaning - make sure that the rooms get cleaned. I will not stay here again - too many other options available.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the turnpike- that will cut down in the noise and stay away from the ground floo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

After staying at another hotel sharing this parking lot on our trip down, it was evident that we would not be returning their no matter how convenient it was to get to - but that's all in another review. We were VERY pleased with not only the hotel, but also the staff at this Holiday Inn but then, we have traditionally chosen Holiday Inns with very little by way of regrets. It was apparent that there had been a major renovation on the first floor where we stayed, can't say much about other floors, elevator etc, as we only used the hallway to get to our room at the end of the hall. The ONLY complaint I had (and it's minor) there was a pretty major tear in the screen, but as we would have had a lot of road noise in our double queen suite, opening the window was not an option. With the a/c unit running there was minimal road noise, and nothing that kept any of us awake.

I would recommend this hotel to most anybody, and would strongly consider a return stay if in the area.

Room Tip: lower floors on the road side are not too bad for noise level...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustPamperMePlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel from check in through my stay every employee said hello and what could they do for me. The breakfast in the morning staff asked was very gracious and their service was great. Nice work out room as well. Down side, dinner you are probably going to drive to since there is only a Mexican restaurant in walking distance and that is about 2 block. Nothing wrong with Mexican food but it was not my choice on a Sunday evening

Room Tip: Get a room toward the river or street side. The coal trains run past he hotel on the the other side...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here twice in a one week span while on our way to and from Myrtle Beach, SC. We have two developmentally challenged adult children with some behavioural issues. The check-in clerk was the same both days we checked in (without prior reservations). She made us feel very welcome, even after witnessing the impatience of our youngest son (after 8 hours in the car, all he wanted to do was unwind).

The rooms were comfortable, with two double beds (might have even been Queen beds), and a pull out couch, which we also used. The room had a large, flat panel TV, fridge, and a microwave. Breakfast was included in the price ($134 US taxes in), and included scrambled eggs, sausage patties, toast, bagels, a pancake machine, as well as a large assortment of juices, coffee, and pastries.

There is an indoor pool and a hot tub as well on the first floor. The hotel is also close to numerous eating establishments. We walked next door to a Texas Steak House (not sure if that's the exact name), which offered a good selection of steaks at reasonable prices.

I have to agree with one of the other reviewers of the hotel in that the sink is on the opposite side of the room from the bathroom itself. This may be seen as good for some in that it affords some privacy if someone wants to use the washroom at the same time. But I just find it a bit inconvenient.

Room Tip: Our room both times faced the highway, although on the 2nd floor level, we were below the level of t...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Ontario_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here overnight in a two queen room while visiting University of Charleston (which is located conveniently nearby). Hotel staff is quick and efficient when processing check in and even allowed us to check in two hours early. Hotel is located in Kanawha City, which is a bit of a drive from downtown but not too far. Parking is provided as is a indoor pool which looked very clean. The room was spacious with two queen beds, desk, and sleeper sofa couch (which we were not expecting in a standard queen room). The decor was modern and the room had a flat screen television. Bathroom was spotless and was perfect size for what needed to be done. The sink is outside the bathroom with ample counter space to be able to place items on it. Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express fare with continental items with scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits n gravy, and the wonderful hot buttermilk pancake machine. If the price is right, it is definitely a great choice for visiting the charleston area!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here Friday night for one night on our way back to Ontario. We had originally booked at the Motel 6 but it was closed so we went next door to this one. There was a room available - two queen beds. The room was very nice, clean, and had a microwave/small fridge. Only drawback as the bathroom - the sink/counter were in the room - no problem. The toilet/tub were in the bathroom - the door was so big to get in and out of the bathroom and we couldn't prop it open - kept trying to close on us which was irksome when bathing the kids. Would be nice if there was some kind of stopper on it. Went swimming in the pool which was nice although the stairs and the shallow end were really rough on the feet. Didn't use the hottub. We were on the highway side of the building so we did hear the highway throughout the night but actually wasn't took bad. I expected that when we went to get a room there so wasn't surprised. Got up, had the hot breakfast, pumped some gas and was back on the interstate easily.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Hotel is recently updated, there were no cleanliness concerns I could immediately object to. (Some minor stuff- microwave smelled like popcorn, some smears on the door, no hair or stains on the bedding though.)

Most strikingly, the rooms back right up to a major highway. Rooms on the third floor are right at the same height as the road, and less than fifty feet away. When semi trucks went past at night, the bed would literally shake, and I had a Jurassic park moment with my water on the bedside table.

The heat and refrigerator are also noisy when they kick on. For sound sleepers only!

Room Tip: Third floor has the most highway noise.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wsb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear wsb101,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We appreciate the feedback we receive to improve the products and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Address: 107 Alex Ln, Charleston, WV 25304-2971 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $117 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing