We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
On The Road
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“This is a great property!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The staff at this hotel is so friendly!

We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas holiday while visiting family in the area.

We had a great rate at this property, and felt the value exceeded the rate!

The hotel was so nicely decorated for the holidays - it was almost like staying at home!

The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed.

Breakfast wasn't great - but I haven't found a Country Inn yet that really delivered on the 'free breakfast'. The breakfast burritos were still frozen! Yuck :/

There is a Bob Evans close by - so a great breakfast isn't far away!

Would I suggest this property to other? YES! It is a great property, great location, and the staff is very friendly!

One note on the location though - this hotel is SOUTH of Charleston in Kanawha City... NOT in SOUTH CHARLESTON. The two areas are at opposite ends of the valley - so for a first time visitor to the area, it could be confusing! So when they say CHARLESTON - SOUTH....... they do not mean SOUTH CHARLESTON. Just check a map before booking!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over you holiday vacation, I do apologize for the issues with our breakfast during you stay. We are currently under renovation and with that we are getting a new kitchen and breafast area and we are hoping that will improve our breakfast considerably. We doo hope you can stop in and stay with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    118
    59
    29
    13
See reviews for
211
101
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nothing to complain about. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was in great condition. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was tasty. Our family made use of the fitness room, the pool and the guest laundry and all met our expectations.

I will happily book here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Values Guest,

I am happy to hear you had a fantastic stay with us and that you and you family made use of the amenities our hotel has to offer. I am also glad to hear our staff was friendly and help to you and your family. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I just checked in to this hotel after being caught in the snowstorm on my way back to Louisville, Kentucky from Washington, DC. I tried the Motel 6 next door but the woman working the front desk (or should I say, walk up window) was less than accommodating and I didn't quite feel comfortable at the property. Walked next door and found this gem! Jennifer, who was working night audit, was EXTREMELY hospitable and made me feel comfortable. She went out of her way, even walked outside to watch me walk to my car (which was parked next door at the slummy Motel 6) when I moved it to their parking lot. As a lone, young, female traveler who has no idea where she is and got caught in unfortunate circumstances, you can imagine how relieved I was that someone actually cared and wanted to do whatever they could to help me. The room is great, two warm queen beds and very clean. Would recommend this hotel to anyone! Thanks so much Jennifer, you are wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My sister and I were recently in the Charleston area because of a death in our family. We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites and we were so glad we did. They gave us a reduced bereavement rate for out-of-town family members, When I asked staff if they knew of a nearby restaurant that would be able to provide a quiet place for family members to gather and have a meal after the funeral, they offered us a private room at the hotel. They also made coffee and iced tea for us as well as provided the plates,napkins, cups, silverware, etc. We appreciated this more than words can say. Their many expressions of sympathy, empathy and concern meant so much. A big thank you to Terry, Stephanie and all of the staff.

I have stayed at several of the hotels in the area on other trips. From now on, this will be the ONLY hotel for me. Please stay here when you are in the Charleston area. It is clean, modern, and safe place to stay. The hot breakfast was great each morning. While I did not take advantage of the indoor pool and whirlpool, it looked very clean and nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Values Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us, and that our staff could help in your family's time of need. We hope that your future stays with our hotel are under happier circumstances. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Over the past 6 years we have stayed at this Country Inn & Suites many times. We are always pleased with the clean rooms and the helpful staff. Our most recent visit was exactly what we expected. We can add very little that has not been covered in other reviews. Our stay was great and I am sure we will book again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot if you are concerned with highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roustabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Vauled Guest,

Thanks for your comments. The managment and staff are glad that you enjoy your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed 2 full weekends loved it will stay here every time I come down this way best place I have ever stay in clean very nice staff and very friendly breakfast was the best I had bed made every day washer and dry to do my wash

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMoorejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Glad you had a wounderful stay. Look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Managment and Staff
Country Inn & Suites Charleston, South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

i stayed at this hotel in august. this was the best country inn ive ever stayed at we were here on a vacation and this was the perfect family freindly hotel. We loved the very large room and the huge pool. The staff was great and the breakfast was ok yet not the bes ive had but averge. overall i had a wonderful stay at the country inn and suites charleston.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room away from the interstate because those rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the good comments on are hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are working to make are breakfast better. Hopefully on your next vist we will do better with breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.

Managment and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
5.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
6.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 23 in Charleston
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Address: 105 Alex Ln, Charleston, WV 25304-2971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing