We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We had a great experience at the Hampton.

We wish the price was a little better, but the facilities, location, the pool, the room, and the hot breakfast were all excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank traveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 825 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2007

We chose the Hampton though it was 5 miles off our route (I-77). The ratings of I-77 hotels in Charleston on this site were mixed so we opted for the Hampton which had better reviews. We were not disappointed. The room and facilities were immaculately clean. The beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast was way above average.

Our only complaint was that with only a few other guests that night, they placed us right next to a noisy young family which didn't always make for sound sleeping with relatively thin walls. Surely a little more thought could have gone into that room assignment.

One caution. Try to avoid rush hour. The road from I-77 was crowded with cars at 4:30 PM.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dwsact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

This is the best Hampton Inn I have ever stayed at. The pool, pool area and jacuzzi were a lot nicer than most of the fancier hotels I have stayed at. The pool area was extremely clean.

I found the staff to be quite professional, especially at the breakfast. At many hotels the staff doesn't handle breakfast well, but they did at this hotel.

The construction at the hotel is still ongoing, but really didn't cause us any trouble, except for making it challenging to find a parking spot.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank pt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

I was disappointed in this hotel - especially after reading previous reviews. The hotels seems older. The staff was friendly enough but did not appear very professional and were often out smoking in the parking lot - which I consider a turn off. The rooms are very outdated - the furniture all seemed old, HOWEVER they did have the amazing beds that Hampton's are known for. The room seemed relatively clean - but I was afraid to look to close. We arrived late on a Friday and were leaving early the next morning so I figured I could deal with it. I was also turned off by the pool area, the lobby bathrooms and the breakfast area - it all seemed old to me.

The location is good. It's easy walking distance to several restaurants and shopping.

I will add that there appear to be some renovations going on - and it appears that they are adding a wing so perhaps once all of these updates are complete it will be a lot better.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank spkjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We love this hotel. very clean. staff is nice. walking distance to many stores, restaurants. Breakfast is free, hot, and includes many choices. pool and spa are wonderful, clean. we stay here every time we go for shopping,very convenient. rooms are spotless.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

I stayed at this Hampton with a friend and our two children (9), the rooms were very spacious with upgraded bedding. The indoor pool was wonderful, very large for a Hampton Inn. Breakfast bar was extension, with lots of selections. Sodas, coffee and tea available 24 hours. Walking distance to several nice restaurants, Toys R Us, Chuckie Cheese and a small mall. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelmom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2006

We recently stayed one night at the Hampton Inn Southridge in South Charleston, WV. We couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. It has a very nice lobby, pool and breakfast area, as well as friendly and helpful staff. We had a king room with jacuzzi in the bathroom and it was lovely. Immaculately clean and nicely decorated, very comfortable bed and furniture. We will stay nowhere else when we visit Charleston and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
5.1 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charleston South, WV
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Address: 1 Preferred Pl, Charleston, WV 25309-9454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $132 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing