We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong with a Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice, comfortable Hampton. Located near a bunch of chain restaurants and shops. We had a great one-night stay while traveling and would definitely stay here again. Staff was helpful and kind; breakfast was good with lots of choices that made adults and children happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEK216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

BEK216, Thank you. It is great to hear that you had such a memorable stay with us, and we look forward to future stop-overs when you are traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 797 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

THIS WAS THE BEST HAMPTON WE'VE EVER STAYED AT!! The staff did an OUTSTANDING job, made us feel welcome, and were very helpful. They offered info on food choices, brought us extra pillows promptly when asked, and always had a smile on their faces. One of the staff members, James, was very nice and went out of his way to make us feel welcome.
The pool & hot tub were AMAZING!! We had a long day & enjoyed the cabanas by the pool & hot tub, while our son went swimming. The patio outside was also very nice & clean. The exercise room was wonderful. Had plenty of equipment & the layout was great. Our room was clean & the beds were nice & comfortable.
I couldn't believe that this hotel is approx. 17 yrs old! I thought it was new & asked a staff member when it was built. When he told me I didn't believe him! The whole place was very clean & in excellent condition. You can tell that they work hard & keep this property in great shape! It shows!! The decor was very nice & stylish. The breakfast area had a nice layout, and plenty of food choices for breakfast.
The location was perfect too! Cabela's was right next door (which made my husband & son very happy!) and there is also a shopping center next door. Several food choices, from nice restaurants to fast food places...
This was about 5 miles out of our way, but well worth it!!! Couldn't of been any happier with our stay & will stop here next time we travel through Charleston WV. Wish all Hampton's were exactly like this one! Way to go Hampton Charleston-Southridge!! Keep up the good work!! It is appreciated!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shana1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Shana1975, I can't say thank you enough for such a wonderful review! I am so happy that you truly enjoyed your stay at our hotel while you were in Charleston. You recommendation and choice to return to us are all we need. I'm glad to hear what a great time you had and we look forward to showing you the same service upon your return. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great staff and extra amenities make this Hampton stand out from the rest. Lobby had free, fresh chocolate chip cookies in the evening! One side of the building is near a noisy restaurant dedicated to the Quaker tradition - oil, not religion, so the parking lot can be loud, but who sleeps there anyway. Shopping is endless and hotel is on isolated corner of a huge store complex.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FWDpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

FWDpost, Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate the comments and compliments and we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hampton Inn for the first time. We were so pleased with this hotel, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. The hotel was just beautiful. We plan on staying at this Hampton Inn everytime we are back in the area. Such a great hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Jill M, Wow! Thank you so much for the nice review. We really appreciate the comments and are happy to hear that you will stay with us the next time you are in the area. That means a lot to us. We can't wait!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

For many years my only connection with Charleston West Virginia was flying in on my way between Washington DC and Cincinnati. For some reason some madmen in the FAA decided that if you cut the top off of a mountain, you could land a plane on it! Today with the STOL aircraft I am sure it is a much more enjoyable, but still harrowing adventure. I can remember flying into Charleston in an Electra Turboprop and writing my will on a cocktail napkin after seeing the airport from the air as we circled.

However, those days are gone and I am mostly an earthbound traveler these days. That is what led me to the Hampton Inn in Charleston West Virginia.

This is a great place to stay but if you don't pay attention to the directions when you book your room, you could get lost. We did! GPS and all. First of all, Southridge doe NOT mean it is in the south part of town. Imprint that on your brain.

Between the construction and the winding snakes that form the highways through Charleston, you have to be on top of your game to get off at the right exit and then hope that construction does not hamper your finding the hotel. So once again, get your directions down in triplicate.

Once you find it, you are home free. A great place with excellent staff. The morning buffet was more than adequate and there is even a pop machine with ice to get you on your way. There is also a free brown paper travel bag with some goodies in it that came in very handy.

One of the reasons, besides the great rooms and staff, is that you are handy to one of the best Mexican Restaurants in the Eastern USA; Las Trancas! It is 2 minutes from the hotel and you don't have to get back on the road to access it.

Read my review to complete your Charleston layover.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernwriter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

northerwriter7, Thank you for the review! I am sorry you had difficulty traveling the roads through Charleston, but I'm happy to hear you made it. Thank you for the kind comments about the hotel and the surrounding shops and dining establishments. We would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had my 17 birthday party here, I am now going on 20 & I thought everything was wonderful, nothing in my room was dirty, broke or no smell or mold in bathrooms. I definitely enjoyed my stay and I'm seriously thinking bout having my 20th bday gathering here in September. The service was excellent :) thank you for the good stay

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sierramichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

sierramichelle, Thank you for the kind review, and I'm happy you had a good time when you were here. We would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times before as a date night or outing with the kids to swim. We live about 30 minutes from there however when we went to check in they said "we can not will not rent a room to persons who live within 75 miles" of the hotel!! They were nearly empty had plenty of rooms! The front desk staff was not accommodating at all ! We went and stayed at Marriott downtown which was great! Their breakfast is second to none and much better than Hamptons warmed microwaved food and cereal! Even if they would rent to us we wouldn't return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WVdisneyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.1 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Address: 1 Preferred Pl, Charleston, WV 25309-9454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $120 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing