We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Beckley, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hampton Inn for the first time. We were so pleased with this hotel, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. The hotel was just beautiful. We plan on staying at this Hampton Inn everytime we are back in the area. Such a great hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Jill M, Wow! Thank you so much for the nice review. We really appreciate the comments and are happy to hear that you will stay with us the next time you are in the area. That means a lot to us. We can't wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    147
    43
    19
    8
See reviews for
196
124
24
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

For many years my only connection with Charleston West Virginia was flying in on my way between Washington DC and Cincinnati. For some reason some madmen in the FAA decided that if you cut the top off of a mountain, you could land a plane on it! Today with the STOL aircraft I am sure it is a much more enjoyable, but still harrowing adventure. I can remember flying into Charleston in an Electra Turboprop and writing my will on a cocktail napkin after seeing the airport from the air as we circled.

However, those days are gone and I am mostly an earthbound traveler these days. That is what led me to the Hampton Inn in Charleston West Virginia.

This is a great place to stay but if you don't pay attention to the directions when you book your room, you could get lost. We did! GPS and all. First of all, Southridge doe NOT mean it is in the south part of town. Imprint that on your brain.

Between the construction and the winding snakes that form the highways through Charleston, you have to be on top of your game to get off at the right exit and then hope that construction does not hamper your finding the hotel. So once again, get your directions down in triplicate.

Once you find it, you are home free. A great place with excellent staff. The morning buffet was more than adequate and there is even a pop machine with ice to get you on your way. There is also a free brown paper travel bag with some goodies in it that came in very handy.

One of the reasons, besides the great rooms and staff, is that you are handy to one of the best Mexican Restaurants in the Eastern USA; Las Trancas! It is 2 minutes from the hotel and you don't have to get back on the road to access it.

Read my review to complete your Charleston layover.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernwriter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
northerwriter7, Thank you for the review! I am sorry you had difficulty traveling the roads through Charleston, but I'm happy to hear you made it. Thank you for the kind comments about the hotel and the surrounding shops and dining establishments. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had my 17 birthday party here, I am now going on 20 & I thought everything was wonderful, nothing in my room was dirty, broke or no smell or mold in bathrooms. I definitely enjoyed my stay and I'm seriously thinking bout having my 20th bday gathering here in September. The service was excellent :) thank you for the good stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sierramichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
sierramichelle, Thank you for the kind review, and I'm happy you had a good time when you were here. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times before as a date night or outing with the kids to swim. We live about 30 minutes from there however when we went to check in they said "we can not will not rent a room to persons who live within 75 miles" of the hotel!! They were nearly empty had plenty of rooms! The front desk staff was not accommodating at all ! We went and stayed at Marriott downtown which was great! Their breakfast is second to none and much better than Hamptons warmed microwaved food and cereal! Even if they would rent to us we wouldn't return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVdisneyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been making quite a few trips back and forth between Maryland and Missouri since April of 2013 and have been staying at this Hampton Inn because of it's location. We have found that this particular Hampton Inn is in need of some serious updating. The bathroom fixtures are tired and in need of replacing. The refrigerator door would not stay closed; however, it was repaired when we brought it to the attention of the desk. The breakfast was terrible. One waffle maker was not working, one toaster was not working, the fruit bowl was empty and there was no butter. After eating my bagel I went back, hoping the fruit had been filled but it had not. I finally found the guy responsible and told him. He quickly filled it. The counter was also in serious need of being cleaned where people had spilled waffle mix. Better service is definitely needed at the breakfast bar. If we stay here again we will definitely walk over to Panera Bread.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Jeanne B, I want to thank you for the review, and I want to apologize for the service issues you experienced while you were here. These issues will be addressed and should not occur again in the future. We appreciate the continued stays you have made over the last few months and would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed two times two weeks apart with different experiences. Biggest pluses: this is the only hotel in the area with bathtubs you can actually lie down in and not break your neck from the sharp angle geared for people taking showers. (Beware you have to ask for a room with a tub because some only have showers.) First stay in a room on 3rd floor had urine-smelling bathroom and chewed tobacco lumps in night table drawer. Spray air freshener the cleaning staff gave us didn't help. Second stay on the 6th (top) floor had upgraded bathroom fixtures and was quieter although someone had obviously smoked in it. If you're allergic to feather pillows, you have to request foam. Hotel promises duvet covers are washed for each new guest, a nice assurance. As always, great free coffee available 24 hours. Oranges, apples, bananas, cut fruit mix, oatmeal, cereal available for healthy breakfast altho' unfortunately only brand of yogurt is Yoplait--the type colored with carmine (dead ground up beetles). Many stores and restaurants very close. When you find lines at the popular Olive Garden and Red Lobster, go 1/2 mile down the highway and enjoy our favorite, O'Charleys.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub/shower combo (rather than only shower), you have to request it. Sixth floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesthebarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
charlesthebarles, I want to thank you for the review and apologize for the issues with the first room. We have addressed these issue with housekeeping. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast offerings and the location. If you come through Charleston we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

First, the staff was friendly and the welcome reception was a very nice perk.

This is an older property and not particularly clean. The bathroom has mold everywhere and there were washcloths hanging on the shower curtain rail from the last occupants, Ugh. The tub drain didn't work properly and there was very little hot water.

The pool was big and very nice with a whirlpool as well. We enjoyed it but had to report a guest drinking beer in the hot tub.

It really needs a large crew to truly deep clean this hotel. So many little things overlooked and believe me, they add up to a scruffy spot.

We slept well on wonderful beds and will hope that can make up for the rest of the problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poesjenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Poesjenel,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay here and we are very sorry that you ran into problems during your stay. We have fixed the bathroom issues and have addressed the other issues with our housekeepers. We hope the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again so we can have another chance at showing you what our warm Hamptonality is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
8.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Address: 1 Preferred Pl, Charleston, WV 25309-9454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing