We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

As with most of my Hampton Inn experiences this one was great. We arrived pretty late in the evening as an overnight stop on a long drive. They were very helpful and courteous and even prodided us with some complimentary beverages. The room was typical, comfy bed average amount of space. Iwas a little disappointed by the shower but there was nothing actually wrong with it. Also, we had a great breakfast before we got back on the road. Oh and there are a TON of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slandis2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

slandis2007, I'm very glad to know that you had an enjoyable time during your stay, and I am sorry that you were disappointed in the shower. If you would like to contact us and let us know what we can do to improve this area, that would be great! I hope you will give us the opportunity in the future to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 786 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a problem with our room smelling like smoke. The front desk clerk told us we could cover the vent. He offered another room to us but told us we might have the same problem since the floor below us was a smoking floor. At checkout our room was refunded since they didnt fix the problem for us. Their willingness to make this right and admit their fault makes me want to return and give them another try!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Hollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

What is there to say about a Hampton Inn? When you're here, you're family? No, that's Olive Garden. We love having you here is actually their current slogan - and it may or may not be true, because it's a reasonable place to take the family, and generally properties are about the same from town to town.

In this particular instance, it was centrally located to where we needed to be, easy to access and most of all, clean. There have been places that we found that didn't fit that bill at all, but this one did just fine.

The property appears to be on the new side, the staff is friendly and the breakfast is good, though mostly continental (they do have a few hot foods that change periodically). There is also an indoor pool - nice because West Virginia probably isn't the place to have an outdoor pool!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayseae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

jayseae, Thank you for the review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel fit so many of your needs while you were here. Thank you for the comments and we would love to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We came here after a night at the Hampton Inn Downtown Charleston, which was too noisy due to its location (at a freeway interchange). This was much better both in that regard and a better hotel overall. Service was quite good - they had a free pre-dinner hour with drinks (the beer was Bud Light which is below my standards, but I appreciate the effort), soup and salad, free cookies all day long; nice touches. It is a bit of a drive to downtown, located around a bunch of shopping malls. Nonetheless, if we ever have reason to visit Charleston again we would return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chazzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

chazzq, I'm glad you found our hotel a great stay, and am happy to hear that you received such good service. We appreciate the review and can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've stayed at Hampton inns before, and I always look for one whenever I go somewhere. They're my first choice for comfort and service! We stayed for 3 nights. The pool and hot tub were great for relaxing. The breakfast is the best complimentary breakfast I've had. It was a great stay and if I'm ever in the area again, I'll definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollySmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

MollySmarr, Thank you for the review, and thanks so much for the photos you posted as well! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to future visits when you return to the Charleston Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stay here once a year and it is a reliable, convenient, great hotel year after year. This most recent visit was the most crowded I have seen the hotel because of some basketball and soccer tournaments but we still managed to have fun. Great public areas for the family to hang out in, wonderful pool area with cabanas and a spa and a nice gym too. Employees are friendly and accommodating, even with a sold out hotel!

The location is great, very convenient to shopping, including Cabelas, a nearby movie theater and plenty of restaurants. The hotel offers free fountain soda throughout the day so our tradition is to get dinner to go from a local restaurant and then eat in the modern public area, kids love it!

We’ll be back next spring!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyno39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 27, 2013

luckyno39, Thank you so much for the detailed review! We really appreciate our returning guests and are so glad you received such friendly service. Thank you again for pointing out your favorite things about our hotel and we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is definetly a repeat visit hotel. I would highly reccomend it. My son was sick in our route and they gave a check in immediately when we arrived- 41/2 hours before check-in time. All staff were helpful

Room Tip: Call ahead and speak directly withthe front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heathersuemaddex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.1 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Address: 1 Preferred Pl, Charleston, WV 25309-9454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $133 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing