We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice stay twice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Seems that Charleston is a common place to stay the night if you are on your way from the midwest to North or South Carolina. Initially I reserved a room at the Holiday Inn Downtown, but their pool was not open, so they graciously called the Hampton Inn and allowed us to transfer our reservation there with no additional cost.

I was very pleased with the Hampton Inn both times we stayed this summer! It was off the expressway by a few miles, but worth the short drive. There are plenty of places to eat and shop within walking distance. Including a brand new Cabelas, which thrilled my hubby and kids.

The room was clean, and I love and appreciate their "Clean Duvet" pride. Comlimentary breakfast was wonderful, with both indulgent and healthy choices. The pool was clean, and did not have that overwhelming chlorine odor that I have experienced at many hotels.

My only complaint was that the bathroom in the room, both times, had an awful odor that we could smell as soon as we entered the room. The first stay, I chalked it up to that maybe staff "really had to go" or maybe lingering odor from previous guests. But the second stay, in a different room, had me wondering. I did notice that there was no fan or ventilation in the bathroom. Maybe this is the reason?

Overall, nice stay. I consider myself a cheapskate, so I did not like their price. But, considering safe, convenient location, pool, breakfast, and cleanliness, I will most likely stay here again next year when travelling to WV.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad you were able to stay with us again and that you will consider staying here the next time you come to West Virginia. We are sorry about the odor in the bathroom that appeared both times you stayed with us. If you would please call us at 304-746-4646 and let us know which room numbers they were, we can have our maintenance team check them out and correct the problem. Again, thank you for the kind comments and we hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    153
    45
    19
    8
See reviews for
211
133
26
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at this establishment every August (for a family reunion) since they opened and have always enjoyed my stay, until this year! I was shocked to discover that the cleaning lady had taken my Urban Decay & MAC make-up along with my kids ipod shuffle. Not only were my things stolen, but the manager, Mike Carnemolla, never called me back as promised.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry for the incident that occurred during your stay. As discussed in our prior phone conversations, I hope the agreement we were able to come to with yourself and the other members of your party is to your satisfaction. I, again, apologize for the incident and wish you to know that we have addressed the issue with our staff and we are implementing stronger safeguards to ensure this doesn’t happen again. As a repeat visitor, I sincerely hope that you will return, to show you that we have addressed all your concerns and serve you in the future. If there is anything more that you wish to discuss with me, please call me at 304-746-4646 and ask for Mike Carnemolla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was comfortable and staff was friendly. Room was on the small side but good for one night. Breakfast was limited but having free sodas was unique for a hotel breakfast. Location was nice with a lot of restaurants and shopping nearby.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for the comments and I’m happy that you found the staff friendly and the rooms comfortable. I will check into the breakfast offerings to see if we can expand it a little and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the free soda. I hope you will give us the chance to be your hotel in the Charleston area again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Little mixup on room when we tried to check,but the staff resolved the problem in a short period of time. The room was very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was very good. All of the staff was very helpful and courteous. All and all was a very nice stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I’m sorry about the mixup, but I’m very glad we were able to get it fixed to your satisfaction quickly. Thank you for the compliments on the room, staff and breakfast. I hope we can serve you as your getaway hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Room and service fine, our room was on busy side of hotel but still reasonably quiet. Breakfast area/lobby larger and nicer than most Hamptons. Mixed location: Good in being located in midst of active commercial area with numerous dining choices nearby plus gas and ample retail, bad in being about 5 miles off I-64 so a bit out of the way for travelers. All in all, it made for a nice stopover on a long driving trip.

Room Tip: Backside of hotel probably quieter, away from parking lot and commercial area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for the nice review! I am glad you enjoyed your stopover with us and that you liked the proximity to the dining and shopping that surrounds us. Thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you again when you have another trip through the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed at the hotel en route to family vacation spot. Chose it because of others's ratings. It cost about $155 for a double. Rooms were clean, beds were better than others. Some of the bathroom was showing signs of age (cracked tub insert, etc.), but still a decent place. Reception was luke warm when we checked in. The gent the following morning was warmer. Plenty of local eateries near-by from fast food to Paneras, from Olive Garden to Bob Evans. Didn't have the great experience others recounted, but wasn't bad. Breakfast was wanting and should be area the hotel might want to invest in improving. I'd stay there again I guess.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shane785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you had a less than stellar reception at your check in and will bring that to our Front Desk’s attention. I am pleased that you enjoyed the great number of dining possibilities that exist within walking distance, and I apologize again for the experience you had at breakfast. I will be sure to see that it is corrected. If you would like to talk to me about any aspect of your stay, please call me at 304-746-4646 and ask for Mike Carnemolla. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Most hotels in Charleston and older outdated and overpriced. This Hampton is one of the better I have stayed in. Its close to many places to eat. I loved the free soda fountain in the lobby. All hotels should do this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PolishPrincess216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks! I appreciate your kind comments and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our free drinks in the lobby. We think all hotels should do it to! I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
8.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Address: 1 Preferred Pl, Charleston, WV 25309-9454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing