We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quick stay - clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quick stay - clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My niece is getting married outside of Charleston later this year and my sister, niece and I needed a clean and comfortable hotel to spend the night while visiting the site to make wedding plans. This hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rate seemed appropriate for the quality of the hotel and the area. It met our needs. I would stay here again for similar purposes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for the review. I appreciate the time you took to let us know how we are doing. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff helpful and friendly and you liked the quality we provide. I hope your niece has a wonderful wedding and wish them and you all the best! I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    144
    40
    19
    8
See reviews for
190
117
23
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I don't know who wrote the wonderful reviews about this hotel.

The mini fridge and the AC unit are noisy. So noisy they kept us awake. We didn't get more than a few hours sleep altogether.

Believe me when I say NOISY. My family and I were so exhausted the next day.

Read the other review complaining about the same thing. Unbelievable I know,but true.

All Hampton Inns are not like this believe me, but you do not want to stay here, not if you want to get any sleep.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
I apologize the trouble you had while you were here with the noise. We are checking all our units to make sure that they don't interfere with our guests sleep and rest again. I want to thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope you will give us the chance in the future to show that we have corrected the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Loved the room and the staff. It was a packed weekend but I never heard any noise in the halls or other rooms. My hubby loved the free soda fountain in the lobby. Great hotel:-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acre4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We’re so happy you had a great time and think we have a great hotel! We think so too, and the fact that you loved the room and the staff makes us proud. It was a busy weekend and we’re glad you didn’t have any noise troubles from the halls or neighboring rooms. Tell your hubby that we like when our guests enjoy our lobby and it’s amenities! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was very clean, staff were very helpful, love the free fountain drinks available, and peanut butter, jelly & bread to make a snack each night.
Have stayed in Hampton Inns across the US over the last six months & this rates as one of the best.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate that you would rate us as one of the best Hamptons you have visited. That makes us very proud! We’re glad you enjoyed the free drinks and snacks. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Charleston WV!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here on April 14, 2012 and had a pleasant experience. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The rooms were spacious and the beds were soft and comfy. They offered free fountain drinks and coffee bar 24/7 and also a free breakfast. I would recommend this hotel. Sofa sleeper lacked comfort, but I think they are all like that. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFraz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We always appreciate it! We are glad you found your stay pleasant and you were greeted by our helpful and friendly staff. We are also glad you enjoyed our amenities and would recommend us to others. Your recommendation means a lot. We certainly hope to see you again when you are staying in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stay at hampton inns about 25-30 times a year across the country and was a bit disappointed by this one. The lobby was nice, the staff friendly and the breakfast choices and staff were great. The disappointment was in my room, very worn and tired. The walls were significantly marked up, the chair in the room was extremely dirty and stained, the vanity in the bathroom coming apart and the carpet dingy (even with a dark pattern looked dingy). This place just needs the rooms updated. Its a great location as far as amenities nearby, loads of dining, basic shopping, etc..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JdiamondD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, AdminStaff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We're happy you enjoyed our location, breakfast and great staff! We are also sorry that your room was a disappointment. We've taken steps with our Maintenance staff to make sure it is taken care of and that the room is restored to the proper condition is should be. We greatly value your comments about this and hope you give us a chance to show you the improvement in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We went with our family and a large group of friends/hockey team for a tournament. Received a decent price. Check in/check out was a breeze and even made a change to the reservation without any issues. Very good complimentary breakfast with a few options. Loved that the room had a mini fridge and free wi-fi. The only draw back I can think of was it was close to the holiday and the shopping plaza across the street & nearby was very crowded and not so easy to exit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlehane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, AdminStaff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We're so happy that you had such a good time with us and that the reservation change was made for you easily. We think it is a great extra to have the mini-fridge in each room as well. We've found that when the nearby shopping area is crowded, it is easier for our guests to enter and leave by turning left and going out past Quaker Steak and Lube then exiting to the right at the bottom of the hill. You can avoid all the shopping center traffic by coming in and out that way! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleston
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
8.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Address: 1 Preferred Pl, Charleston, WV 25309-9454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing