We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy interstate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Noisy interstate”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

About 200' from a busy interstate bridge, keep the fan running on your ac or you'll be up all night from the thumping sound of trucks. Friendly folks work there, fattening typical breakfast, not much else to say this review requires 200 characters so I'll just ramble, really, the interstate really sucked from the noise, this hotel was built way too close to the truckers who apparently drive all night long.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    176
    86
    33
    18
See reviews for
171
149
43
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Imagine our dismay when we arrived after a 9 hour drive to be told we could not shower. The nearest restaurant was a 30 minute drive and the breakfast was minimal. We were unaware of the situation in Charleston I cannot believe that you were not. Your acceptance of our reservation shows dubious business ethics. We await an appropriate refund. P Keane

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn Dow... C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We want to apologize to you for the inconveniences that you experienced here in Charleston WV. The state of emergency that we were under was hard on all of us and I do apologize that. We tried to contact each and every one of our arrivals ahead of time to make them aware of our situation in case that they needed to make adjustments to their travel arrangements. Unfortunately we are not always provided with contact information especially when bookings are done through third party booking channels. So we do apologize and hope that if you are ever in Charleston WV again that things are as they should be and that we can do better at meeting your accommidation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because I had a flight out of Yeager Airport the next morning. The room was comfortable and the breakfast excellent. The free wireless internet service was very helpful and I really appreciated the free airport shuttle service. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were on the road to Hilton Head and needed to stop overnight near the interstate so we picked the Hampton. We have usually found them to be consistent and good quality and this hotel was both. Very clean room and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They also offered to take us to a restaurant downtown in a shuttle for dinner and pick us up afterwards. Just ask for a room not facing he interstate if noise bothers you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the interstate... it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were greeted with Popcorn and a few Christmas goodies too. The reception/registration staff was very friendly, enjoyed good coffee & breakfast, nice location with a relaxing swimming pool. We had a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just what you expect from the HIlton family! Comfortable, clean, quality rooms. Rate was a bit high at 128 a night for a king, but it was the last room int he house.

Front desk is extremely friendly and welcoming. Great visit, would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady spring, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel was very clean. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Site is close to the mall and industrial sites. Will definitely stay here again when I am in the area. Hope next time I do not have to leave so early so I can enjoy the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing