We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hilton Quality”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just what you expect from the HIlton family! Comfortable, clean, quality rooms. Rate was a bit high at 128 a night for a king, but it was the last room int he house.

Front desk is extremely friendly and welcoming. Great visit, would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    175
    83
    33
    17
See reviews for
166
148
43
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shady spring, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel was very clean. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Site is close to the mall and industrial sites. Will definitely stay here again when I am in the area. Hope next time I do not have to leave so early so I can enjoy the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn, Charleston Wva for my sisters funeral- although this was not a trip of pleasure- the accomodations, staff and decor of the Hotel, was impeccable! I would highly recommend anyone who is visiting Charleston, WVA either for a short stay or extended to book their reservations at the Hampton Inn, W. Virginia Street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Too noisy and has outside building security problems. There are individuals soliciting on the adjacent streets and are in the hotel parking lot also. The interstate is right over the hotel building and is very busy all night long. There are bumps that resonate thru the walls. The resturant choices that are close are not very good for what the ad for the location indicated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hotel had outside work being completed that blocked off the entrance way and handy-cap parking. The oder of chemicals they were using gave me a head ache and came into the entrance of the hotel. The hotel was great but you must accept trying to sleep in a hotel in the city by a highway. We heard a thumping noise all night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
410 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Good spot for business traveler; close to the Civic Center and other dining options a short walk or drive away. This Inn is literally on top of I-64 but I did not hear any road noise. Rooms were in very good condition. Breakfast was one of the best I have had at a Hampton and a very nice dining area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WC-Travelers-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The staff at this Hampton Inn makes it even more special than most. I needed to store my luggage and they were very cooperative, desk clerk at check-in was super, shuttle to a business near the airport...no problem, and I had cut my finger and one of the housekeeping staff saw it and rushed to get me bandaid and a cleanser for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
119 reviews
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing