We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bad Timing with Hotel Repairs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsville, United States
1 review
“Bad Timing with Hotel Repairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hotel had outside work being completed that blocked off the entrance way and handy-cap parking. The oder of chemicals they were using gave me a head ache and came into the entrance of the hotel. The hotel was great but you must accept trying to sleep in a hotel in the city by a highway. We heard a thumping noise all night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    161
    75
    31
    12
See reviews for
148
131
38
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
362 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Good spot for business traveler; close to the Civic Center and other dining options a short walk or drive away. This Inn is literally on top of I-64 but I did not hear any road noise. Rooms were in very good condition. Breakfast was one of the best I have had at a Hampton and a very nice dining area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WC-Travelers-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The staff at this Hampton Inn makes it even more special than most. I needed to store my luggage and they were very cooperative, desk clerk at check-in was super, shuttle to a business near the airport...no problem, and I had cut my finger and one of the housekeeping staff saw it and rushed to get me bandaid and a cleanser for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had a noisy neighbor, but staff was attentive to get her to quiet down. Breakfast variety was pretty standard. Short walk to shopping areas and restaurants. Overall, it was a good visit, especially for the money. Pool looked good, but I was too tired to use it on this visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hotel clean ,beds slept average...Loud construction There was No prior information before checking in ,No signs posted concerning entrance to check-in due to construction , Breakfast just didn't appear fresh. I don't think will visit this location again...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponder, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Everything about this stay was great except for the Internet. Front desk staff was super friendly and efficient at check-in. They have cookies and a popcorn machine in the lobby which is a nice touch. Plenty of dining options if you walk down to the mall which is about three blocks. The hotel will also take you in the shuttle if you don't want to walk. Some people have complained about the highway noise and my room faces the highway, but I don't notice any noise. The only thing that required me to downgrade from five starts was the fact that the Internet is slow. I couldn't even log into my company's VPN without it timing out. Just going to simple websites like CNN was slow. The room itself is standard Hampton and you can tell it's an older property with the desk shoved up against the far wall. Fridge and microwave in the room. Overall it was fine, just wish the Internet was faster like most Hampton properties.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is an outstanding hotel near exit of 64. Do not have to travel far off of highway to get to hotel. Hotel is clean and staff is excellent. We went to the Mardi Gras casino and dog track and it was only 10 minutes away. Everyone we saw seemed to be pleased with their stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing