We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property....slow Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ponder, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good property....slow Internet”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Everything about this stay was great except for the Internet. Front desk staff was super friendly and efficient at check-in. They have cookies and a popcorn machine in the lobby which is a nice touch. Plenty of dining options if you walk down to the mall which is about three blocks. The hotel will also take you in the shuttle if you don't want to walk. Some people have complained about the highway noise and my room faces the highway, but I don't notice any noise. The only thing that required me to downgrade from five starts was the fact that the Internet is slow. I couldn't even log into my company's VPN without it timing out. Just going to simple websites like CNN was slow. The room itself is standard Hampton and you can tell it's an older property with the desk shoved up against the far wall. Fridge and microwave in the room. Overall it was fine, just wish the Internet was faster like most Hampton properties.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    175
    83
    33
    17
See reviews for
166
147
43
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is an outstanding hotel near exit of 64. Do not have to travel far off of highway to get to hotel. Hotel is clean and staff is excellent. We went to the Mardi Gras casino and dog track and it was only 10 minutes away. Everyone we saw seemed to be pleased with their stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bel air, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

always know what to expect at a Hampton Inn and the Charleston Hampton was no exception: clean, friendly, well-located (OH, AND THIS ONE HAD POPCORN IN ADDITION TO THE AFTERNOON COOKIES!) Could do without the noise from the highway . . .but that's the price you pay for its convenient location, I guess

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Fast, fun and friendly staff. Service with a smile and they make you feel at home away from home.I had a long day at work and needed a good place to crush for the night. Clean and comfortable rooms. Location close to the airport. They even have shuttle to take you downtown and pick you up afterwards. Or you get a list of recommended food places that deliver to the hotel. Good value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank johannesn916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeley WV
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night on business - staff very helpful and courteous. Room clean and comfortable. Very convenient shuttle van to and from the mall and nearby restaurants. My room was facing away from the interstate and I slept wonderfully well. Several of my associates weren't that lucky and battled road noise all night. Make sure you ask for an "away from the interstate" room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank blueheninwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
210 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Where do I start? Reserved designated parking for Hilton Honors Diamond member, shuttle to eliminate driving to many fine eating establishments. That is just the beginning. Staff goes out of their way to welcome and insure your stay is great. Room clean and well maintained. Interior has been renovated and continuing improvement are being made. ONly draw back is it is located in Downtown and Charleston has to many one way streets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disgusted012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, OH, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Every employee was most helpful and eager to help. The room was immaculate and very satisfactory. Our room was ready when we arrived. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and had many items from which to choose. We also used their drivers and van for transportation to and from the convention center, and they were always available for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
119 reviews
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing