We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical great Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent one night on business - staff very helpful and courteous. Room clean and comfortable. Very convenient shuttle van to and from the mall and nearby restaurants. My room was facing away from the interstate and I slept wonderfully well. Several of my associates weren't that lucky and battled road noise all night. Make sure you ask for an "away from the interstate" room.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank blueheninwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 670 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Where do I start? Reserved designated parking for Hilton Honors Diamond member, shuttle to eliminate driving to many fine eating establishments. That is just the beginning. Staff goes out of their way to welcome and insure your stay is great. Room clean and well maintained. Interior has been renovated and continuing improvement are being made. ONly draw back is it is located in Downtown and Charleston has to many one way streets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disgusted012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Every employee was most helpful and eager to help. The room was immaculate and very satisfactory. Our room was ready when we arrived. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and had many items from which to choose. We also used their drivers and van for transportation to and from the convention center, and they were always available for our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Thank you for making my brief stay memorable. Staff was tremendous in helping find dining accommodations as well as transportation to and from. Will definitely stay here again next time in Charleston.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located within a very short walking distance of the Charleston Civic Center. New carpet was being installed throughout the entire hotel which gave the hotel that new smell. Breakfast was mediocre but hot and filling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Brent1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Clean safe, nice area to walk along the river, close to downtown mall resturants and the civic center, driver of the van was helpful and considerate. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking. A little road noise from the interstate but not enough to keep you up at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

In my reservation, I specifically asked for a quiet room away from the elevator. I received room 223 which was neither. The noisy door to the outside was located somewhere right below this room. I am not a light sleeper, but I can tell you that door opening and closing stopped somewhere around 1AM and resumed around 5AM. Ice maker and elevator are on the side wall of this room. This hotel is also very close to highway. Since the walls were made of paper mache, I got to hear traffic, doors closing and ice being made throughout the night. I travel a lot for business and do not remember ever having so much noise during the night like in this hotel. I am a frequent business traveler and a Hilton Honors member and this was the worst night of sleep I ever had at any hotel.

Room Tip: You are so close to highway that noise is unavoidable. Avoid rooms 222 and 223.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LiveFreeOrTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $112 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing