We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My favorite hotel in Charleston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

A little hard to drive to there on Virginia St., although you can see it from highway.... but that would be my ONLY complaint about this lovely hotel. The employees are always nice and the hotel is clean, modern and very quiet and comfortable. Really enjoyed my western omelet and perfect oatmeal during the free breakfast. You are in downtown Charleston in case you want to drive nearby to the Charleston Town Center mall with lots of stores and restaurants. Not much to walk to right around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyes46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    161
    75
    30
    12
See reviews for
148
130
38
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Portsmouth, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Room was Very clean and nice. Bed Spreads even have a removable cover that is replaced after each guest. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Breakfast was middle of the road with a good variety: cereal, mixed fruit, biscuits & gravy, yogurt, etc. The back of the hotel parking lot borders Quarrier St. Steps lead up to a sidewalk that crosses the bridge to the Civic Center~ a 5 minute walk. One block farther and you are at the Town Center Mall. Many restaurants in walking distance or a short drive. We went 1/2 mile to a Kroger's Store (at Randolph & Delaware St.), and bought lunch meat, bread, and fresh fruit for evening meals (after eating out for lunch). Small fridge and microwave in the room did the trick! Did not use either the pool or the workout room as we were there to attend a conference and did not really have the time. You can get wet in the pool, but it really is not big enough to swim in, (but might entertain kids). The workout room had 1 cycle and 2 treadmills.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCFollwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Exactly what we expected, clean room, reasonably comfortable beds, polite and attentive staff, and a good breakfast. Hotel lobby near ice machines was uncomfortably hot but it was 100 degrees that day. Overall a very good experience

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montegojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way through Charleston. We'd stayed near here a few years back in an excellent hotel which I fear has probably been knocked down to put in the freeway bridge that this hotel is next to. The loud air conditioning and the rumble of traffic really don't make for a restful night here. The room was spacious and clean and the breakfast the usual Hampton Inn buffet but, if we were to go to Charleston again, wee'd stay somewhere else. It didn't even have the advantage of being cheap at, if I recall correctly, $135 plus tax for the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the freeway as possible and, in the summer, try to get on the north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmnzAsheville_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This Hampton Inn was great. We arrived late and hungry but it was too late for dinner. So the woman at the front desk offered us fresh fruit and some ice water, which was perfect to hold us over until breakfast. Our room was nice and clean, and the bed, pillows and comforter all comfortable. Breakfast the next day was plentiful, and not full of the usual junk food you find these days at many hotels that offer a free breakfast. The coffee (the one labeled Robust) was also quite tasty, which was a nice surprise.

The only reason that I am giving this a 'Very Good' and not an "Excellent' is because it is right by the highway and the night we stayed the hotel was quite full and we had to park one lot over (as opposed to in the hotel parking lot). However, getting on the highway was quick and easy the next morning. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bepumade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Very nice downtown area location. Clean lobby and room with very comfortable bed. Yummy free breakfast with one of those make-your-own-waffle machines. (I didn't have one, but they also had mini breakfast pizzas on the buffet.) Nearby town center with lots of choices for meals. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a quick overnight enroute to another destination. This level of hotel really doesn’t need a lot of review outside of cleanliness, comfort and hospitality of the staff.

On the cleanliness front, the common areas of the hotel and our room – a king on the first floor – were very clean and well maintained. There were no areas that gave us any concern.

Overall, the room was comfortable. It had a desk area with an attached enclosed closet that worked nicely as a way to economize space. The room was medium to smaller sized, but at this level of hotel, that’s to be expected. The only comfort aspect that I would mention is that the bed was somewhat lumpy and dipped in the middle. In the morning, both my wife and I mentioned that we both kept rolling towards the middle throughout the night.

During check-in, and at the complimentary breakfast the next morning, all staff of the hotel were very nice and accommodating.

The breakfast was typical “complimentary” fare…coffee, juices, bread and bagels, cereals, oatmeal, with hot options of pre-made omelets and sausage patties. You could also make your own waffles. Overall, good enough to get you started in the morning.

Outside of the comfort of the bed, which may have just been luck of the draw for us, I would recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWaterAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Address: 1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing