We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a quick overnight enroute to another destination. This level of hotel really doesn’t need a lot of review outside of cleanliness, comfort and hospitality of the staff.

On the cleanliness front, the common areas of the hotel and our room – a king on the first floor – were very clean and well maintained. There were no areas that gave us any concern.

Overall, the room was comfortable. It had a desk area with an attached enclosed closet that worked nicely as a way to economize space. The room was medium to smaller sized, but at this level of hotel, that’s to be expected. The only comfort aspect that I would mention is that the bed was somewhat lumpy and dipped in the middle. In the morning, both my wife and I mentioned that we both kept rolling towards the middle throughout the night.

During check-in, and at the complimentary breakfast the next morning, all staff of the hotel were very nice and accommodating.

The breakfast was typical “complimentary” fare…coffee, juices, bread and bagels, cereals, oatmeal, with hot options of pre-made omelets and sausage patties. You could also make your own waffles. Overall, good enough to get you started in the morning.

Outside of the comfort of the bed, which may have just been luck of the draw for us, I would recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWaterAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    175
    83
    33
    18
See reviews for
166
147
43
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

As always, Hampton Inn's are a great place to stay with consistently quality beds and clean rooms. The service was great, the free wi-fi was very handy considering I was doing a lot of business related work while I was on my working-vacation. The breakfast was wonderful with plenty of choices and excellent service. This location is just a block away from the Civic Center and the Town Center Mall and the Boulevard of Kanawha River. This also happened to be the Charlie West Blues and BBQ Festival so we could walk to the attractions with no problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyoffiveMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My colleague and I stayed here not knowing what to expect. We were delighted about our decision to stay at the Hampton Inn Charleston. The staff was wonderful. Deborah at the front desk was lovely. Roy, the shuttle driver, was the nicest and most accommodating. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was wonderful, not your standard continental breakfast by any means. It was a true southern experience. If I return to the city, I'm staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

As always, the Hampton Inn provides fresh clean linens for each guest (yes, they wash the duvet!), along with hot breakfast every morning. The bed was comfortable, flat screen TV, impeccably clean bathroom. Coffemaker, iron, and toiletries available in room. USA today at your threshold. I always try to stay at this chain wherever I go- not because it's glitzy, but because it's reasonably priced, clean, and you ALWAYS know what you're going to get. What I want to highlight about this trip: the hotel is located near a bridge/freeway, which does create some noise. As a light sleeper, my first night here was a little difficult. I politely asked (knowing they were fully booked for a conference), if they had any chance to move me, could I get a room away from the freeway. Without hesitation, they accomodated me to the best of their ability, apologized for the inconvenience (which wasn't needed- it's not their fault), and offered to move my belongings for me. This customer service is why I will return year after year.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel toward the river. Pool was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edevine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My husband and I came to the Hampton Inn because of my friends wedding and it just happened to be where everyone else was staying. I was hesitant about what I was going to find after reading some of the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival and check-in, the manager was there and helped me check in. After finding out that I had a large load to carry in (I was making the wedding cake and needed to bring a lot of stuff with me for finishing touches the next day), she quickly allowed me to change my room to the first floor right near an exit door. The room itself was very clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom stocked with everything we needed. There was adequate space for me to store all of the cake supplies without taking up the entire room. The pull out desk was a great help and allowed me space to work on some finishing touches and do some work.

Throughout our stay we took advantage of the free breakfast provided in the lobby (which was nicely decorated and clean). The breakfasts were great and the staff was very helpful and quick to replenish food as needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with king bed. It also had a mini refrigerator and microwave which was a very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newsgirl415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This Hampton Inn is a nice place to stay with one unfortunate exception: its location. The hotel is situated right next to a major highway. I felt tensed up from the constant whoosh of the passing cars and trucks. If highway noise doesn't bother you, then this hotel is nice enough. It has a friendly staff and the rooms are pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandafsmithson
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stay at Hamptons a lot when I travel and this one is just what you would expect. Good staff good rooms good lobby. Not the Ritz, of course. location is a little tough to get to (between interstate and river with one way streets) but it is close enough to the water to make for good morning runs.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandafsmithson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
118 reviews
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing