We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, basic room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, basic room”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Charleston is the halfway point between Cleveland OH and Raleigh NC so we tend to stop when going to visit family. The hotel is right by the highway & close to Town Center Mall. It's basic, but clean. The staff is incredibly kind - even giving us a 5th floor room at the request of my son. The pool was clean and well maintained. Breakfast is basic Hampton Inn fare. My son loved the DIY waffles.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tw41733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    178
    88
    35
    19
See reviews for
178
150
44
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, IL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

When we discovered that Charleston, WV was halfway between our home and our vacation destination in the OBX, we decided to break our drive in equal parts, going and coming, and stay at this Hampton. However, after we spent one night here on our way to NC, we canceled our second reservation. Of all the Hamptons I've stayed in (and I've stayed in dozens) this was probably the worst. I was disappointed to find the hotel situated in an unattractive and rather seedy neighborhood, but I was even more disappointed to find the front desk staff unfriendly and unprofessional. They seemed so irritated by us checking in, and thereby interrupting their personal gossip session, that they gave us the silent treatment and merely held out our keys at arm's length without a word. (I will admit that the morning desk behaved better.) The room was adequate, but nothing more, and we had to keep the drapes tightly closed to avoid the view. I have to say it was quiet, which was nice. It could be our imagination, but the beds didn't seem as comfortable as the ones we usually get. My husband hardly slept at all. Hampton breakfasts are never too exciting. The consolation is that they are free. This particular breakfast was poor even by Hampton standards. It actually made me depressed. We were just passing through town, and didn't need much from a hotel, but this Hampton failed to meet our most basic expectations, and I'm glad we stayed elsewhere on our ride home.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary60193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, mo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

My family and I were traveling due to a death in the family and we were looking for a quiet pleasant place to stay for 3 nights. Since we have always had good experiences with Hampton Inn we chose this one.As usual, this Hampton Inn was spotlessly clean, the service was great and the free breakfast was delicious. We thought $128.00 a night was a bit steep, so my dad asked if the management could give him a deal. They said yes and lowered the price by twelve dollars per night. Overall I was very happy with my stay and I would like to thank Hampton Inn for making our stay pleasant during such an unpleasant time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alm2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This motel was somewhat dumpy. The bed was OK, but the rest of the room was overdue for upholstery cleaning, and there was a split seam in the top of the Ottoman. The apparently bent temperature probe for the HVAC unit stuck out into the room posing a tripping hazard. The window which looked out over a parking lot and Dennys' restaurant was covered only by an accordion shade. There were no curtains to block the outside lights from coming in around the sides at night, and no shear scrim to let in light during the day without becoming a show for all on-lookers. The small bathroom was well laid out, but lost its advantage when the coffee maker was stuck in there taking up all the space on the counter by the sink, and sharing an outlet with the night light and the hair dryer, which were really too close to the water for my comfort. The toilet flushed badly - always needed to flush twice and hold down the handle. The "business center" was two computers on a counter crammed into a small area next to the reception desk. The evening clerk was polite, but apparently new and seemed shy and uncertain. The morning clerk was polite, but didn’t apologize when I told her about the things that needed fixing, and seemed surprised that I would even bother reporting them since I was leaving. The location was very close to the interstate, but inconvenient for driving around town. There was a van and driver, but it seemed he only wanted to take us to the mall for dinner (and collect a tip) so we had to press him to get directions to a good place to eat nearby.

I would really like to be able to give a rating better than “poor,” but not so good as “average.” I would also like the option of giving a “recommend maybe,” as it wasn’t bad enough for a “not recommended,” but if I return to Charleston, I would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cares4Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I've stayed here twice with my wife, and both visits were highly satisfying. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, and everything worked. The staff cheerfully accomodated a special request on our most recent visit. If you're looking for a downtown hotel location in Charleston, try staying here. I don't think you'll be sorry.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eustorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I was a little apprehensive when I booked because this Hampton has received mixed reviews. But....I was very pleased once I saw my room. It is not a new hotel, but the room was decorated nicely and had a large flat-screen TV. The bed was super comfy. There was a little noise from the highway, but not overbearing. The hotel also offers a free shuttle to the nearby mall and restaurants, so once you park at the hotel...you can go to dinner and unwind with a couple of drinks without worrying about getting a taxi or driving. Overall....a nice Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilburno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

The Hampton Inn Charleston Downtown is, as the name says, it is right in downtown Charleston WV. Free parking is provided for guests at the muti-storied hotel with an indoor pool and whirpool and lobby breakfast area, decorated to Hampton Inn standards with local photographs. The pool was undergoing repairs at the time of the stay.

This was my first HiltonHHonors stay and the check in process was more over the top than I've experienced at competing hotel operators and strange as extras were guaranteed to a HiltonHHonors credit card. The clerk later called to apologize as she was new on the job.

The room was tastefully furnished in Hampton quality furniture and had been renovated within a recent time period. The king bed was exceptionally comfortable to Hilton standards and there were several pillow types to choose from. Standard Hampton toiletries were available and the towels were soft. This hotel room had a full wall that contained a roll around desk and armoire and while the mobile desk could be a convenience, the choice of ottoman or upholstered chair for seating at the desk might be a problem for one needing to do a business day's work in the room as opposed to a standard office chair.

The room was quiet although close to the freeway and in the downtown area. Everything was clean and no other problems were encountered. Breakfast was Hampton standard with two hot items as well as cereal, yogurt and fruit items.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tzzydzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing