We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallish rooms, but dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed in this hotel on the way down south to Kentucky to visit my parents for Thanksgiving and unfortunately only stayed for a few hours, as we arrived late and left early. We didn't get a chance to check out the gym or have breakfast; the pool is outdoors only and not open this late in the season.

We did really enjoy the fact that the hotel was located in a quiet, somewhat sterile complex with mostly office buildings. (The key was that it was quiet.) Behind the hotel, there was even a steep dirt road that my puppy and I discovered led to a few hike-worthy trails.

Rooms and bathrooms were immaculate. Dishes, pots and pans and utensils were standard Residence Inn issue, but somewhat more worn than at other places we've visited. There were no wine glasses, but we were happy to drink straight out of the bottle, anyway. ;)

It wasn't such a big deal for us given the brevity of our stay, but the rooms in our suite were really quite small for a Residence Inn. The living room was tiny, with a couch, TV, coffee table, desk and kitchen table all cramped into the same 14' x 14' space (an estimate). The bedroom was hardly more than the bed. Windows did not open, or if they did, we couldn't figure out how to open them.

We were expecting a little more for the price and the location, but overall, found the hotel to be fine for what it was. I'd recommend the hotel for those traveling with dogs (it seems to be better than the other alternatives we found in the area), but not so enthusiastically for others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

We enjoyed staying at this hotel very much. It was very clean and quiet. It is close to Charleston (about a 5 minute drive) but is very secluded. The hotel staff were very hospitable, kind and helpful. Room was great, large.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pair-of-bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I was travelling with my wife and 5-month old daughter on our first vacation together. We made a reservation for the Residence Inn thinking the baby would be about ready for bed when we got there from our starting point. Plus the in-room kitchen would be handy for washing bottles and getting the next day's bottles ready.

When we arrived, the staff upgraded us from the one-room to a two-bedroom suite. The surprise really helped out as we were able to set the baby up in one room to sleep quietly while we had the living room and second bedroom to relax in. Breakfast the next morning was crowded primarily due to some area Special Olympics teams who were also at the hotel, but getting food and a place to eat wasn't difficult despite the crowd.

The only thing travelers might need to know is that this hotel is tucked in a quiet office park. There are no gas stations or restaurants nearby. You have a good view of downtown Charleston from the hotel, but getting there is a 5-10 minute drive back down the hill.

Overall a nice layover hotel that was clean, accommodating, and ideal for our needs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desert_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

A very well equipped hotel with extra large rooms that allow you to be completely self contained if you wish. You quickly got the feeling that the staff would do anything to make your stay more pleasant. On asking where to eat dinner, we were immediately offered a sheet of local restaurants and a sheet of delivery phone numbers along with a helpful commentary by the desk clerk. Rooms are very clean and well designed. If only the mattress hadn't been filled with marshmallows we would rate the experience higher.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadCenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Was 'forced' to stay here just before the snowstorm that closed down the highways heading south on the Turnpike. All hotels were booked due to the weather conditions...we did not plan to stop here, but had been forced back after the highway staff at the Turnpike told us it was too dangerous to travel at night. Power outages in the area also forced the opening of a Red Cross shelter for those who could not get a room to stay the night (as opposed to staying in their cars, which happened for many people at this time!!!).

While we did not have a reservation, and all hotels in the area were completely FULL, the staff were nice enough to let us use the lobby PC to search for possible accommodations in nearby (1hr west) Huntington...but by the time we located a hotel in Huntington, the Residence Inn staff scrambled around to find a way to open up a 2 bedroom suite for us (we were two travelling families) and they did not try to overcharge us, in our desperate need for accommodations ($120 for the nite!).

The rooms and beds were about on par with other Residence Inns I'd stayed in recently...not the newest or lushest, but decent. Yes, the beds were not super comfy, and a bit on the sitff/hard side, but we could not complain. The breakfast was pretty good, with scrambled eggs, pork sausages, waffle irons. The internet in the room was via cable connection, and was reliably fast.

Though the hotel is pet-friendly, we did not notice any pet odours in our room. Have to say it was a very well-received stay on our part, and in large part due to the courteous and helpful staff, particularly during this minor-emergency time period.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingPuckhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

The one thing we need to do when we travel is sleep well. It's hard to do here, with worn out mattresses that were cheap to begin with. We used the extra pillows to try and keep from rolling into the middle all night.

We also concur with another review here that their idea of clean doesn't match ours. The living room furniture had obvious uncleaned spills. The carpets were vacuumed in the middle, with visible dust buildup around the furniture and the wall base.

Need to use the bathroom quietly in the middle of the night? Not here, unless you're good at feeling your way in the dark. Turn on the bright light, and the fan kicks on - it sounds like a locomotive.

This is a decent property in a convenient location. Marriot Corporate needs to pay them a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamlinBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Hotel grounds were very open with a lot of land area to walk my dog. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. Hotel is dog friendly. Room was very clean and very quiet. During the week (check the days with desk) they serve what they call snacks but it was hamburgers, salads, chips, etc and very good and fressh. The morning was breakfast and more than continental - scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potaotoes etc. I definently recommend this hotel for travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeoconee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
1.8 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston

Address: 200 Hotel Cir, Charleston, WV 25311-1267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $129 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing