We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, quiet room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Large, quiet room.”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We had a very nice quiet room that was very large. The room did not have a refrigerator or microwave, but was very resonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    69
    53
    34
    24
See reviews for
56
52
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rush City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

If you like waiting for elevator stay here otherwise stay away. Property has 3 but only one worked and the staff told us it had been that way for over 3 weeks. Desk had a standard answer they were working on it. Delays in the morning were terrible if you needed the elevator.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pm12334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Needed a place to stay halfway between here and there so this fit the bill. Nice hotel, convenient to getting off the interstate (but not back on). Pool was nice; "fitness center" was marginal. Morning breakfast was good; front desk staff polite. Room was as expected from a Marriott hotel- nice. Complimentary internet worked well but I am learning that mobile phones don't do internet that requires a log-on well. Good stay and will definitely consider for the next trip on the same route.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We spent 4 days in Charleston, WV for a business trip my wife and I. Our stay was very pleasant, the staff was very helpful and breakfast was good. What bothered me was the lack of room service and restaurant, as well as the lack of a minibar in the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCOLLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
351 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We've stayed here in the past while on our way to/from Ohio/Florida. While it has been improved, there's still some work to be done. The rooms are nice and big, but the bathroom area is kinda small and the sink is right in with the toilet and shower. The plumbing is not good. The toilet was so loud as the tank refilled, the shower got backed up and the water was a funny color.

All that being said, our AAA rate of $85 was pretty good for a downtown hotel. (It's about a 10-15 min. walk to the mall.) They provided nice bath products (Pantene, Vaseline), plenty of towels (1 of 4 were soft), and the bed was comfortable. Five pillows were provided, all in good shape.

We let the fan run all night and had a very quiet nights sleep. Breakfast was good, not great (we don't do sausage gravy and biscuits), and they provided a Purell dispenser right outside the eating area by the coffee.

We would stay here again, but also made notes to check reviews on the Best Western next door.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Stayed here for a few nights during a 7-State Road Trip. Up to usual Fairfield Inn standards, without fridge or microwave. Location was excellent, easy walking distance to the Farmer's Market, with the exception of the State Capitol, the only sight worth visiting in Charleston. I would not return to Charleston but if I had to I would probably stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Ths is not the best Fairfield have ever stayed in but I must say it was comfortable. I was traveling with my husband and two children ages 5 and 3. The beds were a little too soft but the hotel staff was very friendly and overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaMGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Property: Charleston Capitol Hotel
Address: 1000 Washington St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1711 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing