We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, easy access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Charleston WV was a convenient in between spot to meet with some of our family. This hotel was affordable and located in the heart of the city. The facilities are showing a little wear and tear although the hotel was near and tidy. Caring and helpful staff that was always ready to help.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank RobfromWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 217 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is located in an area of the city that does not appear safe due to several "mission properties" nearby and lots of loiterers. I worried about my car and when I walked to the Soho restaurant my person. The hallways are dark and cold and the general décor is shabby. The rate is high given the poor elevators, poor hallways etc. I will say the room was large and the heat worked. The bath featured a toilet that looked like a prison fixture. I am a Marriott loyalist and I am surprised they would let a property like this carry the name.

Room Tip: None are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

James C, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback. I apologize that you did not feel safe during your walk to SOHOs but can assure you we have never had any security issues at this location. I am glad you enjoyed the size of your room. If you would like to discuss your stay further, I would be happy to talk to you so we can remedy the situation. We do appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand and hope that would you give us a chance to serve you again.

JoshuaG@swhm.com
304.343.4661

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fairfield Inn Charleston is centrally located near many restaurants and the Town Center Mall. My room was comfortable and clean though a bit small. There was a very good king size bed. Breakfast was of reasonable quality and had a good variety. One mishap, the room had no bath towels, a bit of a surprise when I took a shower assuming that they would be there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

areview28, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the king size bed. I do apologize that you did not receive bath towels in your room. I have taken this up with our housekeeping manager so she can remedy the situation so that it doesn't happen again. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Charleston, WV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was not impressed with this hotel. The bathroom sink was pulling away from the counter and black flacks (mold?) was in the sink. The hallways were freezing cold even though it was in the 30s and 40 outside. Don't even get me started on the elevators! Small, creeky and rather swayed from side to side. I used the stairs. The staff was friendly and the lobby ok. Breakfast was also fine. Next time I will use something other than this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunfanAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

sunfanAnnArbor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one. I would like to further discuss this with you so I can have the opportunity to remedy the problem. I look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will give us another chance to serve you again in the future.

304.343.4661
JoshuaG@swhm.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were on a road trip and had been driving for more than six hours and needed a place to stay. Charleston seemed like a good stopping point. We did not have reservations so we did not have many choices. The Fairfield offered a good rate and although the reviews were not very good we decided to try it for the one night. The place looked clean but there was a strange smell in the halls and the lobby. Our room was clean and adequate. The staff was excellent and very helpful with dinner recommendations. Breakfast was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

SherandPat, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We always strive to offer the friendliest customer service and appreciate your remarks regarding the staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast, as well. We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Charleston, WV,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in fair condition. The area is sub par, and the rent-a-cop does add to the feeling of security. Parking is plentiful, but be prepared to walk a fair distance on a busy night. The woman at the front desk scorned me for ringing the bell when I arrived late prior to check in. I travel very frequently for work, and being treated like a child while checking In is unacceptable. I will not be returning.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank BigDaddy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

BigDaddy, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one. I apologize for the way you were treated upon your late arrival. I would like to further discuss this with you so I can have the opportunity to remedy the problem. I look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will give us another chance to serve you again in the future.

304.343.4661
JoshuaG@swhm.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a good hotel in Charleston and always at a reasonable price. Accommodations are nice. Breakfast is very good. Staff are excellent - friendly, efficient, and professional. Rooms are very comfortable - especially the bedding. It is good for business trips and family trips.

Room Tip: Convenient location to downtown Charleston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

KL W, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind remarks and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you during your next trip to Charleston, WV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
4.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1711 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $65 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARLESTON TRANSFORMATION We are excited to announce that the Charleston Capitol Hotel is currently being renovated to enhance the experience of all our guests. Please note that most of the renovations will be out of the guests view through some public areas and the utmost efforts will be made to limit the amount of noise or any disruption during the construction. We thank you in advance for your understanding and cooperation during this time while enhancements are being made. WELCOME TO CHARLESTON CAPITOL HOTEL Charleston Capitol is conveniently located in the beautiful city of Charleston, WV, situated across from the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences, just a mile from the State Capitol Building, walking distance to Downtown, Civic Center and Town Center Mall. We offer a unique hotel experience with comfort and courteous service for both business and vacation travelers. At Charleston, we have business services and high-speed Internet access in the lobby and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the guest rooms, along with complimentary parking for hotel guests. AMENITIES Charleston Capitol Hotel has a spa tub, a 24-hour fitness center, and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas. Additional amenities include dry cleaning/laundry services and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Complimentary self parking is available on-site for guests. 24-hour fitness facilities 24-hour front desk Air conditioning Cable TV service Coffee/tea maker Connecting/adjoining rooms available Daily housekeeping Desk Dry cleaning/laundry service Free cribs/infant beds Free local calls Free long-distance calls Free newspaper Free self parking Free toiletries ACCOMMODATIONS The 136 air-conditioned guestrooms at Charleston Capitol Hotel include complimentary newspapers and coffee/tea makers. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access is provided. Televisions are equipped with cable channels. All accommodations provide desks and phones; local calls are free of charge (restrictions may apply). Bathrooms offer shower/tub combinations, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. In addition, amenities available on request include refrigerators and microwaves. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing