We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good place to stay in Charleston, WV” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good place to stay in Charleston, WV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a good hotel in Charleston and always at a reasonable price. Accommodations are nice. Breakfast is very good. Staff are excellent - friendly, efficient, and professional. Rooms are very comfortable - especially the bedding. It is good for business trips and family trips.

Room Tip: Convenient location to downtown Charleston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
KL W, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind remarks and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you during your next trip to Charleston, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    65
    49
    33
    20
See reviews for
53
49
12
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El dORADO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After reading the reviews, We totally disagree! It was a clean new looking hotel. Maybe they have remodeled. When we are about directions to restaurants they had many ideas! We didn't eat any chains on vacation. So we were looking for something different. They handled us written instructions from the hotel to the 2 we were thinking about eating at, very helpful. Perfect we didn't get lost. The breakfast was great! They kept everything filled and were very helpful. We also used the laundry room, it was also nice. We didn't have a ref/microwave but didn't matter we were only there one night.

Room Tip: They were above and beyond to please us. We'd stay again of in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Brenda N, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We always strive to offer the friendliest customer service and appreciate your remarks regarding the staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast, as well. We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Charleston, WV,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Driving up to the hotel, I became skeptical because of the surrounding area and old appearance of the hotel. Upon entering my room (supposedly one of the better rooms), I noticed several things: a filthy window, dirty/rusty lamp base, old appearance of room, dirty bathroom (lots of loose hair on the walls), and cracked or water damaged ceiling that had been stucco repaired. After seeing the area around the hotel, I understood the reason they left the lengthy safety tips list on the desk. I also encountered a lady in the very small elevators who asked me, "Is this hotel safe?".
After changing rooms, I once again found the same filthy window and this time black mold in the bathroom.
The staff was very apologetic and did everything to help us, but we ended up leaving and going to another much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsikes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Jsikes17, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not pleasant. I would like to further discuss this with you and do whatever I can to make you happy. Please feel free to call me at the hotel. Again, I apolgoize and hope that I can remedy the situation and that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Knoxville, OH
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great location next to Clay Center but smoke was clearly smelled through our room/bathroom as our room was non-smoking. Room had an odd oder to it to begin with. Nothing but "I'm sorry" offered. No more Fairfield Inn. No adjustment to nightly rate after booking ahead of time which offered microwave/fridge. Once checked in, you can have a room but it will not have microwave/fridge. That's fine but how about a drop in price per night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Deb K, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not pleasant. I would like to further discuss this with you and do whatever I can to make you happy. Please feel free to call me at the hotel. Again, I apolgoize and hope that I can remedy the situation and that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently visited this hotel while traveling to NC. Kristen at the front desk was extremely friendly, professional and helpful. She recommended a great restaurant and when we had a minor issue with our room she went above and beyond to take care of us. I observed this high level of service with everyone who interacted with her during my stay. Great job! The Fairfield is lucky to have her!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Susan D, thank you for the kind remarks regarding your stay. I am glad that Kristen was able to help you with all of your requests. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Charleston, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Coordinator Josh Gross set up our stay and it was wonderful! Rooms were awesome, they even had breakfast earlier for us because of our early departure. Felt real welcomed there! We will definitely stay there in the future and we have our trip in March already booked!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EUP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
EUP2013, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to have your tennis team stay with us during your recent visit to Charleston, WV. We wish you the best this season and look forward to seeing you again in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently visited this hotel and was very impressed by the friendly staff and comfortable accomodations! The rooms are very basic but comfortable and clean. The breakfast area is also clean and inviting. The staff was super nice and helpful for everything I needed! Its a convenient location and easy to find in Charleston. I definitely plan on returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Rachel, thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that our friendly staff was able to accommodate your needs. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast during your visit. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Charleston, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0.6 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Property: Charleston Capitol Hotel
Address: 1000 Washington St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1711 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing