We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Conestoga, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very nice and the beds are super comfortable. Not many Fairfields have an outdoor pool, but this one does! We were pleasantly surprised by how nice a city Charleston was . Very enjoyable stay with a very lovely staff. The staff couldn't do enough for you.

Douglas Young

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglasYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    69
    54
    34
    25
See reviews for
56
52
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are very loyel marriott guests and usually choose this brand of hotel because you know what to expect.

The hotel is VERY accessible if your looking for a brief stop in the middle of your road trip, it is right off the interstate and very accessible to multiple routes. We did arrive around 8pm and it is located in downtown financial district i would guess because it was a ghost town!! there is alot of parking though. We had a strange encounter in the parking lot with a couple looking for a drive to some pharmacy near by which was a bit un-nerving.

The lobby is updated, but the elevators are very old (its almost like this is an old hotel that Marriott has bought and just made the necessary improvements) there was only 1 elevator working. the hallway was dark. The room was old and felt very out dated. They did have the usual marriott beds and they updated the shower and possibly new carpet but that's about it.

the room was just not what we were expecting from previous fairfield inn's. It looked like there was no where to eat in the vicinity so eat before you arrive!! we brought food and heated it up in the microwave.

breakfast was fine, usual options with eggs, sausages and they had biscuits with gravy which looked interesting! They had delicious cookies in the evening.

we were glad we only were staying the 1 short night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelWrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Two of the three elavators were out of order. The third was working - but had a four person limit. There were only two of us in it - and it was still making horrible noises. I was fearful enough to not use it again... even though that meant climbing five flights of stairs.

Marriotts are usually upstated and clean. This hotel - while it has the new green carpet - everything else is sorely in need of an update. The shower stalls were old.

The morning breakfast was just disappointing. While the breakfast/lobby area was not any more or less busy than any other Fairfield Inn - this one looked neglected. The egg pan was emply. When the attendant refilled it - the eggs were ice cold. The waffle batter dispenser was empty and there were no yogurts in the frig. The options were limp bacon, toast and hard boiled eggs. Even the coffee thermos were empty.

This was my first horrible experience at a Fairfield. I've written corporate - because any effort to have these problems addressed by the in house staff were met with shrugs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janigrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happystay82, Front Office Manager at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We here at the Fairfield Inn would like to say we are truly sorry for the issues you had with our hotel. We apologize for not meeting the standard you expect from a hotel of our caliber. We are continuing to work on our facility to make it better every day. The elevator should be fixed on/by 06/29/13 sorry for the inconvenience that it caused you. We will make sure that your next stay with us is a great one. If there is anything else we can do please let us know. Hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

At first sight, you are unsure if you want to stay here. The building looks old from the outside, with a unfriendly parking lot that is dark and not welcoming. Unfortunately, the inside doesn't change much. The building clearly shows it's age. The people are very friendly, however the rooms do not meet expectations for the Marriott brand. The rooms have an old musty odor. There ha clearly been no updating of the building itself in the past 15-20 years. The bathtub had dirt stains and the towels were dingy. The shower head was fairly new, which was nice.

If you don't have to be at this location in Charleston, I'd recommend exploring another hotel, for what is likely no price difference. This one feels too much like a Motel 6, in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMPfromBNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My friend and I were on a road trip from NYC to Jackson Hole, Wyoming and selected this hotel somewhat at random. The hotel was spotless, the people working there extremely nice and our room very comfortable. The beds were super , the shower had great pressure and the Internet worked well and was free. My friend and I would probably usually stay at a hotel that is a notch or two up but because this was such a good experience, we ended up looking for Fairfield Inns at all our stops. Without exception, every one of them was the same. The people were super nice and all the amenities were equal. In Lincoln, Nebraska the hotel was fully booked and a young woman made several calls to find us a room. We ended up at a fancy Marriott in the heart of downtown and it was not nearly as nice or organized as all the Fairfield Inns we stayed in in other cities. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for something that is not expensive but pays attention to cleanliness, comfortable beds and really nice staff.

Room Tip: No restaurants in these hotels but a nice breakfast that is included in the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happystay82, Front Office Manager at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying with us here at the Fairfield Inn and thank you for you comments! We hopo to see you here again soon! Have a great day and as always thank you for staying with us here at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Service was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We slept very well. It was quiet and the bed was great. The shower had awesome water pressure. They have a nice spread for breakfast: bisquits and gravy, make your own Belgian waffle, bacon, scrambled eggs, danishes, yogurt, juices, coffee,etc. The grounds could be touched up with some weeding of the flower beds. It's in walking distance to the Capital building, museum, restaurants,etc

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsy
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Room was nice, service desk staff were nice, generally a decent place to stay. Rates were average for Charleston downtown area.

Best thing about this facility is its location. In walking distance to event centers, restaurants and a few blocks form the waterfront area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrifina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#8 of 23 in Charleston
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Property: Charleston Capitol Hotel
Address: 1000 Washington St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1711 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARLESTON TRANSFORMATION We are excited to announce that the Charleston Capitol Hotel is currently being renovated to enhance the experience of all our guests. Please note that most of the renovations will be out of the guests view through some public areas and the utmost efforts will be made to limit the amount of noise or any disruption during the construction. We thank you in advance for your understanding and cooperation during this time while enhancements are being made. WELCOME TO CHARLESTON CAPITOL HOTEL Charleston Capitol is conveniently located in the beautiful city of Charleston, WV, situated across from the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences, just a mile from the State Capitol Building, walking distance to Downtown, Civic Center and Town Center Mall. We offer a unique hotel experience with comfort and courteous service for both business and vacation travelers. At Charleston, we have business services and high-speed Internet access in the lobby and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the guest rooms, along with complimentary parking for hotel guests. AMENITIES Charleston Capitol Hotel has a spa tub, a 24-hour fitness center, and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas. Additional amenities include dry cleaning/laundry services and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Complimentary self parking is available on-site for guests. 24-hour fitness facilities 24-hour front desk Air conditioning Cable TV service Coffee/tea maker Connecting/adjoining rooms available Daily housekeeping Desk Dry cleaning/laundry service Free cribs/infant beds Free local calls Free long-distance calls Free newspaper Free self parking Free toiletries ACCOMMODATIONS The 136 air-conditioned guestrooms at Charleston Capitol Hotel include complimentary newspapers and coffee/tea makers. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access is provided. Televisions are equipped with cable channels. All accommodations provide desks and phones; local calls are free of charge (restrictions may apply). Bathrooms offer shower/tub combinations, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. In addition, amenities available on request include refrigerators and microwaves. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing