We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Wexford, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Older Downtown Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is a refurbished older hotel in downtown Charleston. When I last stayed there 35 years ago, it was the Heart o' Town. It has also been a Holiday Inn. Elevators as slow as I remembered them to be. Ample free parking, but some shady characters milling around. In our room, the wallpaper was loose from the walls in big areas. The toilet was either not clean or mineral stained - if mineral stained it should be regularly addressed. The outlets in the desk lamp (a real plus for charging gadgets) did not work. Bed very soft. Breakfast far exceeded expectations.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    68
    52
    33
    23
See reviews for
55
52
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
338 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Appears to be new or recently remodeled. Clean, everything worked and worked well. Nice to have the extra space vs just a bed. Didn't feel cramped and the kitchen was a usable size.

Did I say it was clean! That is number one on my list and it certainly was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlTheWorld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last week twice for business - hotel is very clean and service was great. Rooms were a bit loud from the air conditioning units and toilets seem to run often but for the price its was fine. Breakfast was fair need to upgrade the food there but its free so can't complain that much. Overall I would go back as its close to the center of town for work

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jsabatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in October and it was satisfactory. The location in town isn't exactly the best, but the parking lot and streets are well lit and I never felt unsafe. Parking was free and wasn't an issue at the back of the hotel.

The staff was the best part of the hotel. They were very nice and friendly. Helpful with restaurant recommendations.

Fitness center was a bit small, but sufficient. 4 machines plus a small selection of free weights.

Rooms were nice and comfortable. Only complaint was the bathroom. Just appears old and some parts were rusting.

I would stay here again, but I'm going to try the other marriott in town on my next trip and see if it's worth the increased cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spolcecsekr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Its an older Fairfield Inn thats upgraded but a nice hotel to stay in with plenty of parking. Hotel is about 2 miles from airport downtown right off highway. Its located on a main street in Charleston convenient to various locations. The hotel staff was extremely helpful (esp. Zach) at the front desk and the others that work there. The parking lot is well lit at night. The hotel is non-smoking although they do have a place out front (I think they need to move it further from the front door). They have a fitness center that is very adequate and a pool. They have the best morning breakfast I have found in any Fairfield Inn with lots of variety for everyone along with good decaf coffee (a plus for me). They even have a filtered water dispenser that I feel is excellent instead of trying to find change to buy a bottle of water from a machine. Another positive was the hotel wifi worked great and they have a computer and printer for your convenience in the lobby.

My room was very clean (thanks, Debra) but my only complaint was the mattress was too soft and on the 9th floor I had to run the water for a long time for it to get hot. If you like extremely hot showers, don't get a room on the 9th floor but I had a nice view of the highway and mountain instead of downtown buildings. If I am back for another trip I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't know if the hot water was just my room because I had some problems with it but I would def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMayvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights for a wedding. The hotel was 2 doors down from the church and right across from the Clay Center where the wedding dinner was held. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast which is a lot more than cold cereal and juice! There was something for everyone to enjoy. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and attentive. The fresh baked cookies available at the check- in counter were a nice touch also :)
We have stayed here before on another occasion and will stay again.........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealTravelAgent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

An older Fairfield property that has been updated to work with a retro theme. Easy to get to from the freeway, plenty of parking, and clean rooms. Like I said, an older property but in good shape. It's downtown but all was quiet. It seems to be a popular place for the business crowd: lots of meetings, etc going on in the restaurant over breakfast which is included. Breakfast isn't anything out of the ordinary: pastries, bagels, cereal, a waffle maker, juice, coffee, yogurt, fruit. All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbyglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Property: Charleston Capitol Hotel
Address: 1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing