We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Stopping Point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Capitol Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Charleston
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Stopping Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stopped here on the way from Virginia to Ohio to visit family. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the continental breakfast was what you would expect. Overall, a great place to stop on the way to your destination.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travels_for_the_cure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    65
    48
    33
    20
See reviews for
53
49
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed one night. Our room was great and I thought the breakfast was good. Within walking distance to Charleston downtown attractions. I would book here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We can reccomend this hotel for anyone passing through Charleston. The room was clean. The shower had a grab bar which was a help. When we had trouble connecting to the internet, the hotel loaned us the device needed to make our Dell computer work on their system. The desk clerk came up twice to help with this. A good Italian meal is available at a nearby restaurant. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwsact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

My husband stayed here for 2 nights while I was in CAMC for surgery. They gave us a discounted rate which they do for people with hospital needs. I stayed the first night. The room was large, clean and quiet. The breakfast was reportedly satisfactory. I would recommend this hotel to anyone whether locally or traveling. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herekittyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I was in Charleston for business and was booked to stay here. The rates seem very reasonable and the complimentary breakfast is generic but appreciated. The service seemed fine and I was sleeping well, until THE BED BUGS came and bit my entire right side of my body. The staff were quick to switch rooms but tried to charge me for the extra room. Unacceptable. It is no secret that there is a bed bug problem in North America, this hotel should have been much more accommodating!

BEWARE!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ecocat_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Brutus
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Traveling through and just needed a hotel off the highway. We found this place with a good rate and we are so glad we did! It was just off the highway but also in downtown if anyone needs to be there. The desk staff were wonderful and the breakfast staff were the best I have ever seen at a chain hotel. The breakfast was excellent with a very good variety, but it was the staff that made it extra enjoyable. Free Wifi was appreciated too.

Our room appeared newly remodeled and was very, very nice. It was very clean and nicely appointed. The bath was fine with a great shower but surprisingly not as stylish/ updated as the room. This was NOT a distraction though. We had stayed the night before at a much more questionable place and were just THRILLED with this hotel.

The only thing I would like to suggest to housekeeping is to clean the floor threshold between the room and the bathroom. It sits a little higher than the floor and gets a lot of scuffs. I am a neat freak and know I am nitpicking but I bet a magic eraser would clean these right up.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcalmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We have never stayed in Charleston WV before and were just passing through on the way to Hilton Head, but were delighted with the hotel and the town. The desk staff was friendly and recommended a good Italian restaurant within walking distance. The hotel was very clean and has been recently remodeled. We had to leave by 6:00 a.m. and were disappointed that the continental breakfast did not open until 6:30. However, when my husband went down after 5:00 a.m. for our first cups of coffee (available 24 hours), he found breakfast all set up and waiting. This was one of the best hotel continental breakfasts we've seen; waffles, bisquits and gravy, fresh fruit, breakfast sandwiches to microwave, hard boiled eggs, fruit cups to go, cereal,rolls, bagels, coffee, juices and more. The lady setting everything up could not have been nicer. She gave us baggies for food to go and water for the car. She said even though breakfast officially begins at 6:30, she usually has everything ready around 5:30 for early risers.
We would definitely stay here again and explore Charleston a little more. A great value for the money!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joybells10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Property: Charleston Capitol Hotel
Address: 1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing