We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bathroom could use better cleaning at base of tub and...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Charleston East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Charleston East
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    146
    116
    68
    44
See reviews for
199
110
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Because we had previously stayed here in October of 2012 and was extremely pleased with our rooms (we had family in 3 separate rooms) we felt confident in staying here again for four nights. Goodness, how things had changed in less than a year!! The first night we noticed cobwebs in the corners, mold on and in the refrigerator, thick dust on the top of the headboards, and the floors were horribly sticky, I wouldn't even take my shoes off at all! It was late though and we had three very tired and grouchy children so we decided to speak to management the next morning. After talking to them the next day we were assured that our room would be thoroughly cleaned or we would be given a new room. We left to visit family, confident that our room would be in great shape when we returned. My, oh my, were we wrong!! My husband and I were attending his class reunion dinner that evening so we returned to the room at about 5:15 to get ready. We were shocked when we opened the door and found that nothing had been done to clean our room at all! The beds were not made, no clean towels, nothing! And to add insult to injury, the maids had emptied the trash and took the towels that my husband had placed on the sink counter (which he does to make things easier for the maids) and threw them in the floor! And there was a very strong, unpleasant chemical smell throughout the room. The front desk people were appalled when we told them the condition of the room and called to inform their head of cleaning person who was uninterested in the situation. Due to time constraints, we changed rooms and checked out the next morning. We moved to the Red Roof Inn across the street for the remainder of our stay and was very happy there! DO NOT stay at this Days Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliquippa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a smoking room, however I have to say that it was like sleeping in the bottom of an ashtray. The room reeked of stale cigarette smoke ( I have stayed in many smoking rooms that do not smell). The toilet never worked right and quit flushing all together in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croswell, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this hotel online. After our last Days Inn fiasco in Ludington, MI, I should have know better. The price was right. When booking it stated that the check in time was 1 PM. After driving overnight 12 hours, we went to check in on time and was informed that check in was at 3! After waiting 2 hours, we were finally able to get into our room. It was small and dull. The toilet was loose. It was a non-smoking room and reeked of smoke.

Over the course of 3 nights, our keys quit working at least 3 times. The internet passwords changed without any advanced notice. The remote was broken. The tv severely outdated. The mattresses were extremely hard. The floor would have been more comfortable. They booked a youth group or some kind of group with lots of young children in the same building. We had teenagers and should have had some effort made to put us where there weren't children running and jumping and running the halls all night. We received threatening notes under our door, presumably from the kids.

Parking was hard to find.

When we went downstairs on that Sunday at 8 AM to get breakfast (which was also awful) the housekeeping staff kept asking us EACH TIME THEY SAW US if we were checking out yet. Very rude. As for breakfast- microwave waffles, bagels and danishes. We watched a girl go through and touch each waffle then danish with her hands. GROSS! Then when we went to actually check out, once again accosted by housekeeping, we weren't given a receipt because their printer was down and they never gave us the information about the free shutterfly book. We were told a receipt would be emailed. We still have yet to receive the receipt or info on the book. We will NEVER EVER EVER stay in another Days Inn. I would rather sleep in my car. Awful experience in what was supposed to be a great vacation.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tax_desk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked a room for two weeks here due to work. First of all it took me three different times before I got a room that was suitable. The first time I got a none smoking room but it smelled of stale smoke, the second room had black mold all over the curtains, and the third room they gave me the cleaning ladies hadnt even touched it yet. The staff at the front desk are rude and ignorant, the pool is on the smaller side, and is to be opened at 9 but most days wont open it till 11 or whenever they feel like it, the rooms are extremely outdated in looks with big box tvs and really old microwaves, and air conditioners. The rooms have two full size beds which are extremely old and have stains all over the mattress. The free breakfast in the morning was about the only decent thing here they offer. I will never book here again, high price for what this hotel is which is extremely outdated, stained up walls and bedding, stale smoke smell, rude front desk people. I highly dont recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bree f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charleston East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charleston East

Property: Days Inn Charleston East
Address: 6400 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charleston East 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Charleston East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charleston East Hotel Charleston
Charleston Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing