We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Charleston East
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A good choice for the money.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We decided on the Days Inn even though there were some less that enthusiastic reviews primarily because of the rates and were pleasanty surprised. The buildings and rooms were clean and well maintained. The front is just a parklng lot but the rear faces the Kanawa River with benches provided for relaxing after a day on the road. It's certainly not a park setting but still more that one would expect for this level of motel. There's a McDonalds, Lone Star Steak, Subway, and Bob Evans within walking distance, although you will have to cross a fairly busy street for all but McDondalds, and a wide choice of chain or local places within two or so miles. We found the breakfast to be more than adequate, no fresh eggs or waffle machines but the waffles or french toast heated in microwave or toaster were very good. As noted in other reviews the neighborhood is commercial but you aren't paying 100+ dollars either and for us it was perfect for a one night stop while taking in a show at the Clay Center (about 10 min. drive) before moving on the next day. The fan in the wall AC unit could be set not to cycle with the compressor so there was a good masking sound for the street traffic.

Room Tip: A rear unit would overlook the river and be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolling_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    167
    143
    77
    55
See reviews for
235
141
39
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My stay here was more trouble than it was worth. At check in they clerk gave me the wrong key. When I went to the room the key wouldn't work. I returned to the office to get the key rescanned. Upon my return to the room I found that the room was occupied, with someone's belongings in the room. I returned to the office a third time to learn she gave me the wrong room all together. This was a lot of trips up and down the stairs and walking to the detached office since the elevator was out of service. After finally getting the right key my family and I went to our room and found that the refrigerator was turn off. The had to be turned back on and took a while before it even cooled down. Next the fire alarm began to sound, which is still a mystery on why. I think I will pay more and get a nicer hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I must disagree with the other post for this site. It was not what we expected on our arrival. This is no more than a truck stop located behind a local bar with a assortment of patrons.The carpet in halls were dirty, the trim moldings were chipped the elevator was nasty. As for the room it was ok, but not newly remolded the firnishings were dated.The bed and coverings were clean and the room was quiet. There is a outdoor pool located in front of building next to the bar. The breakfast was a true disappointment, I had a coffee and headed to McDonalds for something to eat

Room Tip: Use as a last resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daylate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
165 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Was passing through, it was late so I chose this hotel based on the fact they advertised "recently remodeled".....WOW, I wonder where??? When I checked in I was given a room but the couple that was in the bed wasn't impressed or interested in sharing the room. I went back to the desk and was given the room the other people was supposed to be in. It was really loud, right by the door leading out of the hallway, you could hear everyone coming & going all night. The desk clerk told me he was going to adjust the bill.....yeah by $3.00....hope they could afford it.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor....pass this place up!!! Don't get the rooms by the exit door to the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indy_Fan_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Never had much luck with motels in West Virginia, but this one was very good. Clean and neat and the staff was pleasant. Not the easiest place to get ot. Tallest beds we've ever seen, but very comfortable. Lrge bathroom is a big plus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpicasner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Days Inn was one of the more reasonably priced motels in a surprisingly pricey city. The room was clean and in good shape. We stayed in the middle building of three, which is the only one that has an elevator. Only significant drawback was the A/C unit which rattled noisily. I had to place a briefcase on top of the unit, and a book on the grill, to stop the rattling. Continental breakfast is bare bones by today's standards. If you want something beyond cold cereal and breadstuffs, go next door to the IHOP. I would stay in this motel again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle building (the one with three stories) with odd-numbers face the rear and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Laird, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Overall stay was adequate for the room cost. Stayed overnight on a business trip. The wireless worked good. The room was clean and adequate.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 23 in Charleston
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charleston East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charleston East

Property: Days Inn Charleston East
Address: 6400 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charleston East 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charleston East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charleston East Hotel Charleston
Charleston Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing