We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Charleston East
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
444 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Okay, but....”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

When needing to find a place to stay in Charleston, I went to Tripadvisor - natch. Found reviews for the Days Inn and thought I would give it a try.

There is an adage that you get what you pay for and this is true in this situation. The rooms are a nice size. Staff friendly. Relatively clean. Bed comfortable. Furnishings older but not yet tacky.

But, although wanting a non-smoking room, the one I had must have been a smoking room at some point because it smelt like an old ashtray - so, if you smoke, this is not a bad choice. If you don't, it might annoy you. Choosing to remain, I dealt with it and lit my scented candle (an always traveling tool) to ease my way.

The inside of the elevator had graffti marked on the stainless steel walls, now that took some doing and was a real shame. Doors in building 2 held open by dirty white rags by staff - not a real favorite view and poor choice by management.

This is a hard one to review because for a good price, it wasn't a bad choice but tonight I am in a different chain and thankfully so. This is not a four star but a two star so not a huge difference in price but again, you get what you pay for plus the other guests don't look as scary....

If I were hosting the high school hockey team trip, I would choose the Days Inn, if traveling by myself or with spouse, I personally would not.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    157
    134
    74
    54
See reviews for
223
133
36
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I had not stayed in a Days Inn in several years and found this location to be a great value. Nice large room with 2 very pretty and comfortable beds...Nice to have granite in the bathroom...Very attractive room and asked for a quiet location and got one in bldg. 2 across from the river. Had a great night's sleep and never heard another guest which is a rare situation. Nice continental bkfast included and good free coffee....Friendly staff...Highly recommend if in the area....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twirlfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I'm never sure what I'm going to get when I reserve a room at a Days Inn. I don't know when this hotel was built, but it looks new, and management seems to want to keep it looking that way. It offers the traveler the reasonable price of a Days Inn and a room that is as clean and comfortable as any Days Inn room I've stayed in. Everything was in perfect working order. Additionally, I got friendly and attentive service from every employee with whom I interacted. In short, this establishment offers excellent value. I will return here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eustorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I first came across this hotel while passing through over two years ago and now stay here whenever I'm in the area. The hotel may not seem like much on the outside, but the rooms inside have been newly renovated and look really nice. On my recent visit, the bed was still very comfortable and the linens were all clean. Amenties include cable TV, free wi-fi and a coffeemaker. There is also an outdoor pool and a fitness center but I didn't use either one. The breakfast is typical fare, but there is a McDonald's in front of the hotel as well as plenty of other dining options nearby (I personally prefer the Texas Steakhouse across the street). The surrounding area seems pretty safe and the staff are friendly, making this my preferred stop whenever I'm in Charleston. It works perfectly well for a one-night stay and is conveniently located off of the WV Turnpike. You can't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctanner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was a great clean motel. Very friendly staff, secure buildings, great rooms and the beds & pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and clean area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOMUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I stayed at this hotel overnight on the way home to SC from Ohio. We checked late at night and the staff were nice and welcoming and were quick to get is in a room. There isn't much parking. Most of the guest were overnight while on the road like we were and my 6 am the parking lot was pretty much empty. For a 1 night stay it wasnt to bad. I didnt like how the stairs to the 2nd story were outside and there wasnt a elevator. I didnt feel safe to tell you the truth. It was easy to get on and off the interstate though which is a plus. If you just staying 1 night while on the road its good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mittensgizmo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, IN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I heard they just redid the hotel. Nice staff and clean. Could use new carpet in room but that might still be coming. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennylaneElkhart_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 23 in Charleston
323 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charleston East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charleston East

Property: Days Inn Charleston East
Address: 6400 MacCorkle Avenue SE, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charleston East 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charleston East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charleston East Hotel Charleston
Charleston Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing