We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They know crust!”
Review of Pies and Pints

Pies and Pints
Ranked #1 of 276 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“They know crust!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch on our first day in Charleston. We had read the great reviews and we were not disappointed. Our waitress was friendly, efficient, and very helpful with the menu and the beer selections. My husband enjoyed a beer sampler before committing to a choice, and I tried a hard cider that I hadn't had before. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the Baby Raj beer from the local Charleston Brewery. We wish we could have brought some home with us.

We ordered a large half-n-half pizza: Chicken Gouda/Cuban Pork. My husband wasn't sure about the Cuban Pork, but we both ended up liking it the best. The main thing about the pizza though is THE CRUST. I've suffered through countless pizzas with limp, wet, mushy crusts and it really brings down the pizza experience. Not here! They know how to make awesome, perfect pizza crust. It was firm, crispy, smoky. The pizza was heavy with toppings, but the crust did not give way. Loved it!

I do wish the lighting had of been a bit better at the table. It was very difficult to read the menu in the very dim lighting. Also, something larger than a one person restroom would be nice.

We had a very nice experience, and we would definitely return to a P&P on our next visit to WV.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    245
    53
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Not your everyday selection of pizzas. Would've liked to have tried several of them. Many different choices of craft beers also. The place is kind of small, but I would return if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetlu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just happened to stumble into downtown Charleston on our way north and so I had to write a quick review. This was such a lucky find ~ the food was great and the atmosphere was warm and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New York quality pizza in the hills of WV!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Located on a cute downtown street this place serves up excellent wings with a little kick and great pizza. The pizza crust is crispy with a nice texture. There are many interesting toppings available -- we especially liked the Chipotle chicken topping. A wide selection of beers includes some interesting local brews. Surprisingly good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hypernot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for the Gluten Free!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great options if you need to eat gluten free. The GF pizza crust was the best I've had in a long time. Fun atmosphere, friendly staff, delicious food. Nice kids' menu. So glad we stopped on our way through town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pies and Pints also viewed

 

Been to Pies and Pints? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing