We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience”

South Hills Market and Cafe
Ranked #13 of 277 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: South Hills Market and Cafe serves lunch and dinner in the dining area and at the bar Tuesday - Saturday. Catering available for any occasion. Full bar, craft brews on tap, and a 2014 & 2015 Wine Spectator Award winning wine list.
Rochester NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Charleston, West Virginia. We checked out reviews on Trip Advisor. Let's just say this was a great find. We were very impressed with the quality of the food and the presentation. Our server was friendly and helpful. We especially liked the fact that we were not rushed. Don't let the name "Market" scare you away. It is not a market; rather a unique culinary experience. We are not Charleston residents, but if we were, this would definitely be one of our favorite restaurants. Bon Appetit !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobKathyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    29
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite place to eat in Charleston”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The food and menu are amazing. First class food from a creative chef. I really think it is the best place to take a date in Charleston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank youngg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
827 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
“Great gem of a restaurant in Charleston”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I'm adding my notes from my Agust work trip to Charleston. I wanted good coffee and I wanted a good salad and I found both here. This has a different vibe compared to most of the restaurants I've been to or seen in Charleston because it isn't a chain and it has the personality of what you would find in a more cosmopolitan area. My salad was excellent with a variety of fresh greens, toasted nuts, goat cheese, and other vegetables. The coffee and muffin were also tasty and satisfied what I craved. Service was good and I'll gladly return and eat here next time I'm in Charleston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skilled chef, sublime food, despite a non-pretentious restaurant appearance.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had the seafood risotto and scallops, outstanding. Looks are deceiving, food surpassed our great expectation. It's our favorite charleston restaurant now, for the caliber of the food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1localArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, average food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went with my husband fairly late on a Friday night and was very pleased with the staff member who greeted and helped us. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and willing to answer all our questions.

The food, though, was really not worth the high price. That isn't to say it was bad, but when you pay $60 for a meal for two mostly consisting of the appetizers you really expect them to be phenomenal and they just weren't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Hills Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Hills Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing