We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy neighborhood place”

South Hills Market and Cafe
Ranked #13 of 277 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: South Hills Market and Cafe serves lunch and dinner in the dining area and at the bar Tuesday - Saturday. Catering available for any occasion. Full bar, craft brews on tap, and a 2014 & 2015 Wine Spectator Award winning wine list.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cozy neighborhood place”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have dined here a few times recently, and have consistently had good meals. It is fairly quiet, which makes it a great place to meet with friends. There is a good variety of choices on the menu. The steaks are as good as any in town, and several seafood dishes are good and well-presented. And, if you just want a burger, try one the kobe burgers, which are excellent. It seems like the servers stay pretty busy. Service has been decent, but sometimes inconsistent. For example, it would be better if they anticipate our needs, rather than asking if we need more water.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    29
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, WV
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Favorite”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food and service is exceptional! We finally decided to try dinner and its frankly impressive. The expanded menu offers something for everyone. The least expensive thing is the truffle popcorn and its so delicious.

We loved the lobster quesidilla, steak various seafood dinners and even the burgers.

The problem lies with saving room for dessert. I'm ok skipping the sweets but everyone else wasn't. Creme brûlée was apparently fantastic. We had several people and still didn't wait long on our food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flt587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This little cafe plates food with big taste. Fresh ingredients and new approaches to old favorites made my experience so enjoyable that I wanted to go back again, and soon! A lot of Charleston natives frequent the more popular bistro across the street with its larger bar area, but the cafe is not to be missed for its food selection and comparative price points. Also open for lunch and dinner, the cafe's food does not disappoint. The service is not as efficient as other places, but they will accommodate requests to be quick, for example if you need to get to another event. The specialty cocktails are divine. The dessert selection could be broadened, but who needs the calories? Have another glass or wine or aperitif and enjoy!

Helpful?
1 Thank NjoyNLifeandLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

They were really very slow, (oops, had to take a 2-hour lunch) but I understand the kitchen was working on 4 catering jobs that day. Food was exceptional. Our group of 5 tried multiple appetizers that were all very good. We had a variety of soups, salads, and sandwiches, and all were very good. I had a coffee to go that was quite weak and not very hot. They have a good selection of bakery items; I tried a 7-layer cookie - it was good but not great. Good selection of beers and wines. Parking is limited and the restaurant is small.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beyond Good”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This cafe in Charleston is absolutely worth trying. We were so delighted with the food quality, selection and service. This is just a little spot that is comfortable. Kick back and relax here with good teas and wine. It left us with a great impression. I don't think it will disappoint you. You might just be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fivebirds55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Hills Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing