We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend.”

South Hills Market and Cafe
Ranked #13 of 276 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: South Hills Market and Cafe serves lunch and dinner in the dining area and at the bar Tuesday - Saturday. Catering available for any occasion. Full bar, craft brews on tap, and a 2014 & 2015 Wine Spectator Award winning wine list.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would not recommend.”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Food average, prices high, There are better places in Charleston to eat.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank experteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    28
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Eclectic fresh food, perfect portion sizes served with a smile!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Friendly place with great food at a good price!

I ordered the soup of the day, chicken squash curry (served in a coffee cup) and 1/2 of a chicken salad sandwich. The food was great and just the right size for lunch! I didn't pay for lunch, so I can't remember the price but I don't recall the menu prices anything but average. They had some wonderful looking cookies but I was full from lunch and didn't indulge.

I was very surprised that locals don't seem to know about this place- it's a gem! If you get to Charleston, make sure you hit this place and head a few storefronts back down the road (same side) for an absolutely charming gift shop with all kinds of cool stuff! Just ask the staff here where they got their "fork guy" business card holder and they'll direct you to boutique!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Homeless_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxed, comfortable. Clean and sharp”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Had the opportunity to take in an early Friday dinner, arriving around 6pm. They have seating for maybe forty or so split between booth and open tables. There is a bar seating area for approxiamtely 6-8, which is where I was seated.

I chose the restaurant based on "locally sourced" and "organic" info from other comments. I was looking for a light dinner and there was plenty of choices on the menu to choose from. Ended up with two apps, one the West Virginia Greens and the other a duck. It was excellent. Just the right seasoning and dressing for the salad and the duck was very tasty. Paired it with a house Pinot (American), also quite nice.

A really nice treat for me was the bread starter included brioche. Someone in there is thinking.

They also do a counter service for deserts to go. I can see that getting a bit hectic if you have a full restaurant during a dinner service.

Looks like a great spot for couples on "date night" and I would suggest reservations.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“really good food”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Lunch is great. Great sand. and different fresh salads. Their dinners are great, great food and presentation. Everything I have had at the Cafe has been excellent. It's busy at lunch so go early - make reservations for dinner.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank steelegale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, WV
Level Contributor
313 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast!”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

My husband and I enjoy the casual breakfasts at South Hills Cafe...oats aren't on the menu but they have them and they're wonderful! Make your own croissants are also yummy!

Of course, their french toast with peaches is probably what most people drive "up on the hill" for:))

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank flt587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Hills Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing