We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons”
Review of Tricky Fish

Tricky Fish
Ranked #25 of 277 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: An Urban Beach Bar & Grill serving house-prepared beach food, cold beer, and cocktails. Come join us on the deck! We also feature Buzztime trivia and sports on the tele!
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This place has both good and bad. We really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and the food is pretty good. The service is decent. The place itself is pretty outdated and feels dirty and not taken care of. That being said, it's a good lunch spot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelAddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    43
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little less than average ( my & wifes opinion)”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

OK , i think this place is more for locals, we found it on urbanspoon app on the iPhone with 328 reviews and 83% likes. The exterior of the building (old house) (sides and back ) looked pretty bad, gutters missing on half the side, corner caps on the vinyl siding missing , The front looked ok ( looked like an outdoor patio dinning area , like at myrtle or miami beach, i believe they only had 8 parking spots, we had to park in a lot with signs saying "no parking" parking only for the other restaurants in the area, inside did not look that great either, a lot of urbanspoon reviews said they go for atmosphere??? there was people sitting at the bar near the back maybe thats the atmosphere they are talking about lol, the place was old & run down . The food was ok , but nothing the wife cant do @ home . Wife had 2 fried fish tacos with red beans & rice, I Had 2 grilled shrimp tacos with a salad, fish tacos was ok , i think only fish , lettuce, and maybe sour cream on them , shrimp tacos was ok , but couldn't tell they where grilled, sorta like buying cooked shrimp @ Walmart thawing it and throwing it on a flower soft-shell wrap , salad was ok , with a condiment package of blue cheese dressing, the red beans and rice not good , first i thought the rice was not done, several hard grains in every bite, but then figured it was sitting a while and the dried rice on the top surface was just stirred up before it was served (my thoughts) I was born in New Orleans , and visited there several times, plus my mother was raised and lived there till her 30s now she 74 & has served it for many years, so i know Red Beans & Rice!
The service was pretty fast , atmosphere not great if your like us and like trying different places from out of town , the food was ok except for the Red Beans & Rice. The price seemed a little steep for 2 fish, & 2 shrimp tacos, 2 sides, & 2 sodas = 20 bucks but not extreme .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wvciscokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Depot, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The food was good and the prices, too. The environment is cool. One of coolest places on the East End of Charleston.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“outdoor dining”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

cool little place for an outdoor meal near the capitol. The catfish tacos are really tasty as well as the pulled pork tacos.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food and service were good, place is small, okay overall.”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were on a long road trip and needed to stop for dinner. We always try to hit somewhere Yelp-recommended (since we don't have a lot of variety where we live) so we picked this place because we love a good fish taco.

First? Parking is a nightmare. Especially if you're not local and aren't familiar with the area. The main parking was full, the street was full, and there were no directions were else we should park (the lot was full of "[OTHER BUSINESS] PARKING ONLY" signs, which didn't help us). We eventually went down the tiny alley next door and there was a big open space with some parking spaces and no NO PARKING signs so we parked there--though I honestly still don't know if it was legal.

Second? It's just a small place, so the person who takes your order is also the one who delivers your food to the table...but of course we didn't know this, so when we got to the counter, we waited. And waited. And waited. And waited. Then finally a guy walked by and said he'd be with us in a minute.

Third, it's a SMALL place with only a handful of tables (see photo). There is seating outside, however.

Fourth? Be prepared to wait. And wait. And wait. I'm guessing it's a one-man kitchen, because for our two orders of tacos and one french fry? It took a good 30 minutes--which is honestly something we didn't really need with a toddler and a newborn. And they were busy, but not slammed (i.e. no standing lines or anything).

Fifth? The food is good--not great, just good. I'm glad we went and I'm sure we'd go there again if we lived locally, but it didn't knock my socks off. And the margarita was pretty meh.

Last? The service was very personable. The guy was super nice, and even took the time to chat (and dance!) with our 3yo son!

So, overall, an A-OK experience. Three stars.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hudson2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tricky Fish also viewed

 

Been to Tricky Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing