We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, slow but worth the wait!”
Review of Sushi Atlantic - CLOSED

Sushi Atlantic
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
Restaurant details
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small, slow but worth the wait!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a very small out of the way place. It's run by a husband and wife team who don't rush but are able to produce some of the best sushi I've ever had.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best sushi in West Virginia!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I have been to this restaurant many many times. It is a husband and wife team, and you can watch him make the sushi right in the kitchen. It is a very tiny restaurant with around 8 tables. The wife is the server. Both are very pleasant. The food is outstanding; I have never been disappointed by anything on the menu. A lot of variety on the menu. The only negative is that it may take a little bit of time to get your food if it is crowded. However, the food is totally worth the wait!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“unexpected”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

checking into a hotel in charleston west virginia, and finding a very decent sushi restaurant right behind it was heaven sent.
the sushi is not as good as the best i've had - but it was actually very decent.
we ordered a mess of sushi, miso soup, seaweed salad - and a couple of very large (canadian) sapporo's.
service was not super quick - but very friendly, and certainly not out of line for a place being run by an elderly japanese couple. we were looking for something other than fried food - and this really hit the spot. the miso was one of the best we've had, the seaweed salad with cucumber was great - and out of the spicy tuna rolls, the hamachi, and california rolls and various maki - the favourite was the fried eel. excellent.
small place - 6 tables - very utilitarian - but clean.
there's better sushi in port cities - even in toronto - but for charleston - an unexpected delight.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank extoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amma, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Small hole in the wall, clean, pleasant. Kindly Japanese couple run this place. Authentic sushi! Try the Atlantic roll, yum! This place is a gem in Charleston and I will be back again for sure!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ginhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It won't be fast, but it will be good!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Wonderful hideaway restaurant in downtown Charleston that is run by a sweet Japanese couple. Authentic fresh sushi made to order with a wide variety of noodles and soups. Everything on the menu is good, and there's much from which to choose. What a great surprise in Charleston!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank imac4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Atlantic also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing