We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So much better than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Virginia State Museum

West Virginia State Museum
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Cultural Center, this interesting museum traces the history of West Virginia through a series of exhibits containing everything from an extensive collection of antique hats donated by a local school teacher to the telescope George Washington used to survey lands within the state.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So much better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I live 45 minutes away from the capitol and really didn't expect much from the museum. I was in for a shock. We were really impressed with this museum. It is nicely done and decorated. It is in a timeline theme throughout the museum and seems realistic. Admission is free, but would be worth every penny if they charged.

It is located in the basement of the culture center. The culture center has a different review post on here, but I really didn't get that part. I think we must have missed parts of that, because I wasn't impressed with it. The state museum is awesome though. Nicely done!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carriemariec05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    47
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, FL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon, lots to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The state museum had so much to see! We started out looking at mammoth jaws, moved through time to the civil war era, saw a vintage printing press and phone operator console among many other things. Our ten year old even enjoyed it. Directly across from the beautiful capitol building with the grounds ablaze in fall color. And it was free!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wish We Had Had More Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The State Museum is absolutley wonderful. It is next to the capitol and should not be missed. The people were wonderful and provided my wife with a motorized cart since she has some trouble walking and standing. The exhibits start in prehistoric times and work their way back to the present. Each significant time period has one or two rooms with detailed exhibits and artifacts. We could easily have spent half a day there but had to hurry somewhat because closing time was approaching. The building itself is quite new and is clean and beautiful. If you plan a trip to the capitol complex, be sure to leave enough time for this wonderful museum. There is metered parking both on the street and in a small parking lot adjacent to the museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WCubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ditto Other Reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hadn't read the reviews so I didn't expect much. State museums are sometimes scraped together collections of things people thought should be in a museum. This place is well worth a visit. After three hours was on overload but only half way through. Will have to visit another day to finish.

PS The quilts on exhibit upstairs are truly works of art.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ERKA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WV Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

It was superbly organized and all items well displayed and explained. Too interesting to see in one day so I returned a second day

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Virginia State Museum also viewed

 

Been to West Virginia State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing