We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-managed, Well-run, great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well-managed, Well-run, great place to stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was such a refreshing place to stay during a ten-day road trip. The hotel was impeccably run, managed, and staffed. It was spotless, had great areas to walk your dog, a fantastic pool, and people who genuinely seemed to like working there. The bar was good, the room above-average, and the value off the charts. It's in an industrial area, but suited us perfectly for access to the interstate. Very close by - easy walking distance, in the middle of factory parking lots - is the truly excellent Mexican restaurant Los Agaves. We travel to through West Virginia multiple times per year and will stay in this hotel from now on. We feel lucky to have found it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Maureen B,

Thank you for that "Refreshing Review"! I'm glad you found the time to stay with us during your long road trip. I am pleased that we were able to make your stay a memorable one and I really look forward to seeing you during your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    118
    55
    16
    13
See reviews for
178
74
15
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Festus, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The first reason this hotel is a great place to stay (especially with children) is the pool. There is a shallow area separate from the larger pool that is good for younger children. There is also a waterfall which provided lots of entertainment for our two grandchildren (ages 9 and 10). The pool also had a spray that could be turned on or off in the shallow area. The hotel's restaurant was convenient and the food was very good. It is a pet-friendly hotel which can be a pro or con.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear jdck,

Thank you for the very positive comments about our hotel. The pool is a great place for the kids as well as adults and we appreciate that you tried the restaurant. Pet friendly, good food, great pool, what more could you want? Do not forget about our complimentary breakfast and free WiFi and free parking. Come visit again soon.

Thanks,
S Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have stayed at the Charlston, WV Holiday Inn over the past 3 years 2-3 times per year and have always enjoyed ourselves. It is a pet friendly hotel, which we appreciate. The standard rooms and suites are comfortable and nicely furnished. The dining room has good food, the salads chicken hit the spot. The French onion soup is rich and my favorite. The offer a complimentary breakfast buffet that is fresh, hot and a step ahead of the run of the mill breakfasts. ( No instant eggs or oatmeal) ( we travel quite a bit and really look forward to this breakfast unlike so many others). We look forward to the personal interest that EACH staff member has in the quality of your stay. We happened to be there one weekend night and enjoyed the comedy club. Okay, okay most unique feature is the 17 year old bird Mosa that is in the lobby. It carries on a conversation and will whistle at ya!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Suzanne R,

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to our hotel and the Holiday Inn Brand. We greatly appreciate your comments on the hotel and staff and our amenities. Mosa is quite happy about it as well! We all look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This renovated hotel was all around great, staff were friendly. We dined at the restaurant and it was good (much to my surprise). As with most hotels in the mountains its a mile or so from the interstate, however price and value make it worth it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Jason T,

Nice to hear we made a good impression! I am happy that your kids loved the pool and were happy to meet our parrot, Mosa. We look forward to seeing you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stay here every time we head to NC. Normally we have no complaints.This time however both stays (up and back) were not so good. On our way to NC we were in room 514. The toilet was used/dirty (dribble spots). The pullout was extremely uncomfortable. It had zero support, the black canvass that usually covers the bottom wasn't there, just open bars.

On our return trip home we stayed in room 416, which was very large and spacious. The curtains in the living room didn't cover the window. There is about an almost three foot gap. Upon arriving in the room, the left curtain wasn't completely attached and was hanging. My husband had to use a chair to stand on, but before he could he had to tighten the screws on the chair which were very loose. After attaching the curtain, there was an approximate 3 ft gap leaving space for people to see in. The bathroom toilet drips. The entire shower ensemble moves when you turn on the water. Adjusting the shower head was difficult. Water pressure was fine. The bed ruffle was way uneven exposing the box underneath as well as the red gummy candy on the floor. The pullout was in much better shape than the one in room 514 except for the piece of sausage at the bottom when opening it.

For $150 a night?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphs314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Murphs314,

I am sorry for the issues you experienced back in April of 2014. In that time we have commisioned new curtains and had extensive retraining with members of the staff on how our rooms are to be maintained. I assure you the issues you brought up have been taken care of. I apologize for the fact that we were not able to deliver a stay that you could rate as excellent, and I hope that you would let us prove to you on another stay that we have improved our experience back up to the expectations of all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is my third time staying at the Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, and time and time again, it never disappoints!! We always stay at this hotel while traveling south! The hotel is beautiful from the moment you walk in!! The staff is extremely friendly, from front desk, to the restaurant, to housekeeping. One of our favorites with this hotel is the pool/spa area, with 4 young kids, and lots of time spent in the car, they can't wait to get out and have a lot of fun! The pool is huge, and has an attached small pool for toddlers with "sprayers"! The hot tub is huge and very relaxing for us adults. We always have dinner at the restaurant, which is great because the kids eat free!! In the morning the hot breakfast buffet is complimentary as well! The room is spacious and extremely clean, as well as updated with top of the notch bedding and towels. I always get an amazing price at this hotel, what a great value for such an amazing place! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Charleston, WV area!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Holly H,

I would like to thank you for your review, and all the wonderful comments relating to our amenities and staff. It's great that you all enjoyed the pool/spa area so much! I thank you for your recommendation to others and I look forward to seeing you and the family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in all kinds of hotels, all across the US, as well as internationally. My husband, two children, and black lab recently spent a night during a visit to Charleston. It was one of the most enjoyable hotel stays ever. The decor was stylish, the beds extremely comfortable, the pool very fun with its shooting fountains and waterfall, and the price very reasonable. But it was the staff that made our experience so great. They were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I can't wait to return to Charleston and stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Lisa R,

Your comments are very much appreciated. We love your story and that you could stay with the kids and dog and keep everyone busy. Please come back soon and black labs are always welcome too.

S Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleston
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
3.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Address: 400 2nd Ave, Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West is the solution for your leisure and business travel to Charleston, WV. With an indoor pool and splash pad, fitness center, on-site restaurant and lounge, we offer everything you need for the perfect stay! The hotel is also pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing