We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge a book by its cover.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We typically prefer upscale lodging, but we were weary travelers en route from NC to OH... browsing the web on our phone for hotel that accepted pets. We don't normally travel with our dog but he's small and doesn't shed so we thought we'd let him tag along this trip...still, accommodating a pet was a new prerequisite for us. The H.I. seemed like less of a roll of the dice (and we were tired), so we thought we'd take a chance. This hotel is in a REALLY sketchy part of town and it used to be some other hotel but H.I. has really made an effort to spruce up the place. Surprise! Very modern lobby, bar and restaurant...Really cool pool area adjacent to the lobby....some refurb still taking place in the halls and elevators but rooms were decent. (B to B+)
We didn't eat ...packed up and high-tailed it out of there...but the free breakfast looked a notch or two above your typical Hampton Inn bagel and juice bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RagTopRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
RagTopRon, Thank you for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that your pet was taken care of as well. Thank you for the comments about the hotel, they help us to make improvements for all our guests. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    107
    50
    16
    13
See reviews for
162
69
13
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camdenton, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have several negative complaints I will discuss about the service at the hotel, however, at this time I will speak of my positive experiences. There are several people that have gone above and beyond their roles here to make our stay a better one. There are two woman in the breakfast dining area through the week days, and their hospitality, cleanliness and their approach to all guest is remarkable. They go out of their way to be friendly and on top of things at the breakfast area. One of them is Gwen, and the other lady works along side her, but i did not get her name yet. Also, I do not know the role of a man named Doug, but he has gone above and beyond customer service with not only us, but other guest as well, and all I have seen him do is the trash-he deserves a better position, perhaps hospitality, or a raise. Also Chilu and Nate at the front desk have been very helpful, friendly and accommadating. My aunt owns 13 hotels in Branson, MO and I have been the hotel industry my entire life. The people I have mentioned need to be praised at the very minimum for their roles here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Tim S, Thank you for the review. It is always great to hear guests praise members of our staff as you have done. Our employees make our hotel and we would be nothing without them. I hope that we can improve the quality of the service for you on a future visit and would hope you give us that opportunity soon. If there is anything you wish to discuss, please don't hesitate to call me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This is absolutely the best customer service that I have ever received at a hotel!
Family of 4 was comfortable in double bed room.
Pool area is excellent, especially with small children.
Fitness area is very nice.
Breakfast package added to room is very good deal!
Continental breakfast is nice but only has milk, water and coffee. Juice choices would be nice.
Map supplied on hotel Web page needs to be more detailed, it is kind of confusing.
Would highly recommend this hotel for the business traveler or a family needing to stop for the night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addison k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
addison k, Thank you for such a kind review! It's always good to hear that we've made a guest's stay better. It is even better when guest say they would recommend you. I hope to see you more in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Fairly easy to find, though it seems out of place for some reason. There's a Wyndham right next door and a couple of restaurants nearby, but not much else. Plenty of free parking. Unfortunately, there must have been some sort of event that night because it was very difficult finding a spot.
Nice decor in the lobby.
Room was very clean. I was on the ground floor on the east side and I'll say this- reviewers weren't kidding about the train. It came rumbling past on the south side of the hotel at least a few times between 4 and midnight. Not much of an issue, perhaps I was tired. But it was unmistakable.
Bed was comfortable, internet had no problems, bathroom was spacious, good shower.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
For those with kids, watch the later night viewing. I stumbled across some channels that could lead to an awkward question/answer with the young-uns. I have no complaints about it, though.
Breakfast was a good selection, though I didn't notice a waffle maker, which I almost always go for at these buffets. Maybe I just missed it. Otherwise, a decent selection of items and all were stocked.
I didn't try the bar or restaurant, or the pool or business center.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
thompstone, Thank you for the review. I'm glad to hear that you had a good stay with no problems, except for the parking. The event was a Comedy Show at the hotel, and I'm sorry it impacted you. Thank you for the rest of your comments, they help us improve for the future. It is great to hear that you would stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a nice hotel which you might not think upon first approach. As others have mentioned, it appears to have been recently remodeled and in fact one of the elevators was still under construction. The lobby is very modern, and the pool/hot tub area is very nice. There is a very adequate workout room with several treadmills, eliptical machines and free weights. The hotel room that I stayed in was not huge but large enough, with a very nice, spacious bathroom and lots of counter space by the sink. Everything was very clean. The only real drawback was the area and views, which were overlooking either a parking lot or another hotel. This little area of Charleston has a cute main street that you can walk to from the hotel, with a couple of antique shops. Not a lot of restaurants in the area, but the hotel restaurant was decent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Wilson60, Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed the remodel & our restaurant. I hope to see you again on future visits to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Exterior says the hotel has been here a while, but the interior says it must have been remodeled recently. Lobby is lovely and modern, with an obscured view of a large pool area and workout room, and adjacent to the restaurant. Rooms were clean, with white linens, high beds, large TV, desk, and spacious vanity. Responsive to requests. Every single hotel employee, from the front staff to cleaning crew, looked us in the eye, smiled, and said hello or excuse me or may I hold the elevator for you and so on -- super nice. Very pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend.
(One watch out: Any night in this area will entail some noise from the highway and train.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatjoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. It is great to her that you were impressed and that the service as well as the interior was to your expectations. I look forward to your return visits and hope that you will continue to be impressed with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Man really great customer service. Staff I mean everyone was nice and courteous Ms.Chilou the front desk lady and Mr. Andrew were the ones that really helped us out as far as places to go see and anything else...definitely going to revisit this place

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dretrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
dretrucker, Thank you so very much for your comments about Ms. Chilou and Mr. Andrew, it is great to hear that you received such excellent service. It is also a nice thing to hear that you would visit us again. That means more than you can know. I look forward to your return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
2.9 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Address: 400 2nd Ave, SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West is the solution for your leisure and business travel to Charleston, WV. With an indoor pool and splash pad, fitness center, on-site restaurant and lounge, we offer everything you need for the perfect stay! The hotel is also pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing