We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Concert! Need I say more? Of course!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Civic Center

Charleston Civic Center
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Concert! Need I say more? Of course!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Recently attended a concert at the Charleston Civic Center. My seating was good, my friends... Not so good. They ended up in the rafters, and still paid a not so good price. My recommendation.... If you can not get close to the stage... Or at least the lower level.... Don't waste your money unless you are just a die hard fan! The parking garage is okay if you can park close to the elevator... A little creepy if you have to park further out. I would do it again.... As long as I have good seats and friends to walk me to my car!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anniedawn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seussical, Jr.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great musical at the Little Peoples Theater. The kids were great and the talent was phenomenal!! Those kids sang their hearts out and we thoroughly enjoyed the show :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyAnne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dated center, but quite adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Here's what impressed me the most: the parking garage event fee for all day parking was only $3.00, yes you read that right, $3.00. How refreshing to not be gouged for parking like you are in most big cities. Don't know if it's like this all the time, but it was very much appreciated for our event. The civic center is of medium size, and seats in balcony not up in the clouds as at most arenas. Food options limited but adequate. All personnel were friendly and professional, sort of blended right into the background, seemed like they were there to help and not hassle. Event went off without a hitch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhioTravelers9663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Matchbox 20 & GooGoo Dolls....Excellent
It was so pleasure to go to a concert and have easy access to the seats

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry0063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old venue, but works just fine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been attending events at the Charleston Civic Center for 30+ years, and with the exception of being bumped by a few drunks, it has always been good! It is starting to get a bit of age on it, but believe me, it works just fine! I would never hesitate to attend an event here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyLittleBlackDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Civic Center also viewed

 

Been to Charleston Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing