We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good bargain, value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good bargain, value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed here one night on our way to St. Louis. Convenient to the Interstate, clean rooms and a surprisingly excellent flat-screen TV. Also had free WiFi. Staff was very courteous. The breakfast was only average -- pasty croissants, coffee that was only fair, but I don't expect too much at these places. If you are looking for a decent, cheap place to hang your hat for a night, this definitely gets the job done.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TZACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    103
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
89
98
14
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed at the Sleep Inn on our way to and back from South Carolina. The room was clean, modern and quite comfortable. The staff were very helpful. I would recommend this spot to other travelers looking for a reasonable place to spend a night or two .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FindaKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
201 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

I traveled to Charleston WV on 12/13 and 12/14, I must say that I was pleasantly suprised at how clean that it was! The bathrooms were extremely clean and the room was great. If your going to the University as I was, it's across the river and away from all of the restaraunts but only 10 minutes. There is a family restaraunt in the parking lot not attached to the hotel that was quite satisfactory, just be advised that they don't open until 8am for breakfast. This is the second time that I stayed there, for $79/night as compared to many others that were much higher, you can't beat it. I will stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotrod53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed here one night while passing through and had an excellent stay. The rooms are compact but efficient and contain most amenities including an excellent shower. Be sure to bring along an ethernet cable for your laptop if you want to plug into the free internet service. There is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was adequate but this room too is compact. In short, this hotel is perfectly adequate for an overnight stopover and is conveniently located just off the interstate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed here overnight on a driving trip to Virginia. My wife and I both had a very neutral feeling about the place generally. It sheltered us from the elements, was pleasant and, most important, it was clean. Of course, I have the temerity of believing that a hotel room should be clean whenever the price is north of $40 a night. It was sufficiently spick and span that I didn't worry that my precious young children would contract some exotic disease, like I often do when staying at low-cost places. The downside is that it was not really low-cost. We paid $92 plus tax with an advance reservation. I'd say it was about $25 too much for something so basic -- zippo amenities except for shampoo. The continental breakfast was toward the bottom end of my "free" breakfast experiences. If you want clean and no frills and don't mind forking over a hundred bucks for it, I'd recommend this place. Otherwise, look around for something with better value.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

The hotel is in a convenient location and to be honest i can not say a bad word about it. The room was really nice and clean, for a basic hotel it leaves a number of bigger chains in the shadow. The check in process was nice and easy but what lets it down is Expedia. When booking expedia made it appear we had already paid, but the hotel had no reference to this. What was worse on check out when we questioned this the girl phoned a colleage in front of us saying we were expletive deleted with her. THis is not profesional as the word means the same in Queens English as it did in the US. To me that was the let down of the hotel.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — check out staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenage_saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

I stayed here on June 13,14 and then came back and stayed again on June 20 and 21st. I have a close friend in the Charleston Hospital. I was so extremely pleased with this hotel and the front desk people are awesome. I will be staying again within the next couple weeks. This hotel is very clean and comfortable, the breakfast is nice for a continental. I would highly recommend the Sleep Inn Charleston to anyone.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — only had 2 bath towels but no problem getting more
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank possemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
6.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 2772 Pennsylvania Ave, Charleston, WV 25302-4911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing