We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Sleep Inn while traveling back home and it was the perfect stop. I love how new and clean the rooms are and the staff was very efficient. Breakfast was perfect to get us on our way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmkatz458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    111
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
101
107
15
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed last weekend for our third visit. Friendly hosts, very clean rooms, comfortable beds, good standard breakfast and reasonable prices. We always hope for these and this place delivers. It's a real pleasure to stay here. We stay at the Choice family of hotels 6-10 times a year and this hotel just feels a step above others. Trip downtown is just a hop skip and a jump. PS family restaurant next door is a fine place for a family meal, too.

Room Tip: We slept on the first floor on the highway side and didn't hear any road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERKA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

During the summer months motels/hotels tend to jack up their rates to what I consider outrages prices for a place where I'm spending time to shower and sleep. So, I was quite surprised to find this gem just outside of downtown Charleston, WV when attending a concert by Diana Ross at the Clay Center. I was expecting $125 and higher. I was pleasantly surprised that it was only $96.
The Sleep Inn apparently has under gone recent renovation. Its signs were being installed as I drove up to the motel. My room was pleasantly decorated and comfortable. The desk staff was friendly and helpful with my questions. The morning breakfast was filling and had several items from which to select. I was able to make it through the day without having to stop for lunch because I had a full breakfast which I certainly appreciated. Parking appeared to be a bit tight. Perhaps they can add more parking space once the construction team leaves. I had no complains with the motel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The motel is along I-79 so you might request a room on the far side away from the roadway to avoid a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this motel. Modern, current motel with friendly staff, hot breakfast with clean, comfortable room. Just far enough of downtown to have country feel, yet quick drive to downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Hale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very clean, spacious room, cosmetic magnifying mirror in bathroom, great breakfast, absolutely no complaints. We relied on Tripadvisor's reviews and chose this hotel. It was also recommended by the organizers of the high school reunion we attended on Aug 9 and Aug 10, and we were not disappointed. The staff was friendly, cookies available at reception, we used the coin operated washer and dryer to launder clothes. Convenient to the State Capitol, Civic Center, and Power Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. The room was a bit small but they were very nice and very comfortable. Everything was clean and new. Staff were accommodating and the breakfast was WONDERFUL. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our room upon check-in reeked of cigarette smoke (this was our second room, as the first stank of poop). Upon telling the front desk they offered to spray some room freshener but otherwise seemed blasé. (This was meant to be a nonsmoking room, with placards to that effect posted.)

Perhaps the staff couldn't relate to how bad it smelled as they mostly smelled of smoke as well. We bought a candle at the restaurant & gift shop next door but they could neither give not sell us a pack of matches -- though they called the hotel and reported we could borrow the desk clerk's lighter.

Between the icky smell and lame service (which included my husband having to fix our non functioning toilet himself), I'd say this was a pretty unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katekilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
6.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 2772 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing