We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Sleep Inn Charleston WV is easy access off I-79, just east of Charleston. The hotel is situated between the interstate and the Elk River with beautiful views of a golf course. It is a very clean hotel and the staff was friendly. Our single queen bed room was very small, with modern decor. The shower was a single stall, no tub. My likes: open stairwell from lobby to my 3rd floor room; treadmill (even though it is in a room with vending machines and laundry); hard boiled eggs available for breakfast; cleanliness; quiet; and comfortable bed. The restaurant adjoining the property parking lot was busy though we did not try it ourselves. There is also a pizza shop across the road.

Room Tip: ask for river side rather than road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakleafgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    111
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
101
107
15
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms were redecorated a couple years ago and are very pretty, clean and comfortable. The sheets were soft, the beds comfortable, and the free hot breakfast makes mornings with kids go so much easier. Would certaily recommend the little restaurant next door for dinner too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMaMa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Rarely do I book a Choice Property for more than one night if I e never stayed there and this one was no different. The staff is great here and very eager to accommodate their guests. This is a remodeled property that you can tell a lot of money was spent here. The room was super clean and the Housekeeping dept. takes pride in their hotel. The head housekeeper has been here a long time and seems to genuinely have an interest in your comfort. Tho only downside to the whole experience is there is only one Resturant close but that is not a reflection on the hotel itself. I stayed another night after my first night because it was just right for my travel plans this week. The work desk in this room needs to be changed around as the TV is to your back when working at it. That's kind of a deal to me. The breakfast is better than your average Sleep In Great property.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Being a young teacher, I wasn't looking for something high end. I just wanted comfort with all the basic necessities. When I exited the highway, this hotel was right off the ramp. It was out of the town, but it was out just enough to be in the quiet. It only takes about a five minute drive to get into the downtown area. I was happy with my stay, the staff was friendly, the room was clean, and although it was small, I loved the decor. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I thought I would try this hotel to build some Choice points for later in the year. Overall it is a good solid hotel to consider for the area. There is no real thrills in the hotel. No pool. No little fitness area from what I could find. The hotel isn't surrounded by businesses and restaurants as is many of the other Charleston sites. It is even out of town.

These may be negatives for some people, but may actually be positives for others. The hotel is out of town, but right by the interstate. You can access the interstate and get most of Charleston as quickly or even quicker than you would by staying at one of the Maccorkle Ave motels. The price is actually similar to what you would pay for South Charleston, St. Albans, or Kanawha City. There is a local restaurant in front of the motel that you pass to get to the motel. It has mom and pop hours, but it does seem to attract the locals so I would assume it is a good restaurant.

As to the motel itself. It looks pretty recently remodeled. I have had more comfortable beds, but they did the job. The room was cleaned and properly stocked. The front desk personnel was friendly and kept coffee out in the morning for people after the breakfast hours and cookies in the evening. The television was decent and got the popular channels most hotels subscribe to in the area. The wi-fi worked well, was quick and I was able to access it without much trouble. I would say of the Choice chain selections this hotel would be your best alternative in the area because of it's convenience to town. The others seemed farther away and a few are in rougher areas of town. I didn't go down for breakfast, but it looked like a decent sized area and possibly even some hot items (there were some steamer units on the one counter) to choose from. If you want to park you car and be able to walk everywhere to shop and to avoid the traffic congestion after a concert this one might not be right for you, but if you want something different next time you stay in the area you may give this one a shot.

Room Tip: I ordered one on the front of the hotel. The interstate is on the back side so you may be able to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alman4869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
158 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

or an upscale Microtel. Look. It's a well maintained property with a friendly staff, in a scenic location, (its gazebo overlooks a river that's way cleaner than ANY I've seen in Fla). Overall, Sleep Inns are the best chains without a pool. (In this case. I looked, but the fact I didn't find it doesn't guarantee there wasn't one). The room (#315) was a very WELL thought out for a compact room using every squre foot of its floor space. Such as positioning the mirrors so that you can see the TV everywhere in the room, including the toilet and the shower, ( which probably annoyed the neighbors). The room had a mini fridge/ microwave under the desk which had a chair that could double as a recliner (when placed beside the bed). I don't comment on the breakfast bar because after 30+ yrs of working Shift 2-3, I don't eat breakfast ( since I DON'T want to get up THAT early)! This hotel has a family restaurant adjacent to it ( with a surprisingly loyal local clientel). This property is directly across the river from the airport.
Now WHY it didn't get a 5 out of five.While there is a restaurant next door ,it dosen't serve beer/wine. The next closest restaurants are either in downtown Charleston or on Exit 9 on I-79, There are grorcery stores on NB on US119, towards Elkview, (which THIS weekend seems to be popular with motorcyclists, though they calm down after dark).
BOTTOMLINE I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Odd # room are on the south (sun in winter) side of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtc663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is way way above average in convenience and decor. Excellent beds, super showers and great furnishings. Very good choice on the breakfast buffet too. Best hotel we stayed in this trip, would choose this route again just to stay here. Bit light on the local restaurant choices but the family restaurant on the grounds is adequate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
6.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 2772 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing