We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value, beautiful rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value, beautiful rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have just returned from a 2100+ mile motorcycle trip and cost wise figuring in the great rooms, this was by far our best value. Just enough of a breakfast to satisfy a light morning eater. LOVED the rooms! Very updated and absolutely beautiful. Staff was extremely friendly. My friend and I look forward to returning to Charleston, having not realized what a beautiful city it is, and will definitely consider staying here again. It's only drawback is that it is not within walking distance to the city proper - and I'm not sure this is something "bad". Right off of I79 though no highway noise and close to I77.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    109
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
97
106
15
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is a great place for a family to shack down at during a trip. The rooms are clean, compact (very European), and offer free wifi, a nice perk. The staff was extremely friendly, and the breakfast was decent, though it is not cuisine if that is what you need. The location is good if you're looking to hop back on the freeway and keep going, though it isn't in a neighborhood. No walking to a cafe or anything like that. But all in all, for what it is trying to be, it is well worth it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights one week apart at this hotel. We could not have been more pleased with our overall experience on both of our stays there. The facility was modern, spotless and quiet. The staff were friendly, helpful and upbeat, from the reception desk managers to the young lady who kept the breakfast bar hopping. When's the last time you had the choice of OJ, grapefruit or white grape juice for breakfast at a very modestly priced hotel? Just one example of the range of menu items. Overall, the best breakfast service we've had, and we travel a lot. There's also a nice local restaurant adjacent to the hotel, so no need to go into downtown Charleston for meals unless you choose to. Super place and super people. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Located right next to I-79 about 1 mile east of I-77, easy access to and from. Even though its right next to highway its a rural setting, next to family restaurant and across from a small business strip. Check in was quick and friendly and hotel was clean. Asked for quiet room and clerk put us in room on second floor in front of hotel away from highway in rear. Room was nice size and bed was comfortable, no complaints about room. Breakfast was usual "continental" breakfast and was very good. Restaurant next door was convenient to walk to. After a long trip on I77 fell asleep quickly and soundly. Would stay here again and would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear are next to highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertru44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

My family and I recently stopped in for a one night stay on the way to North Carolina as a halfway stop and were overall pleased with the choice. We stayed in a room with a King bed in one room and a sleeper sofa in the other. I will just point out for me a few highlights and downfalls.

The good: Convenient - right off of the freeway. Clean - bedroom and bathroom. Quiet - no unusual noises or problems. Extras - Fridge, microwave, stove, if staying for several days would be nice for meals. Restaurant - right next store, same owner, full breakfast.

The Bad: Pricey - for the type of hotel, more than I would normally pay for a room. Sleeper sofa - even for my kids a brutal nights sleep, zero comfort. Shower - just weird that the shower head seemed positioned so low, need to duck to wash hair.

Overall a pleasant, clean and comfortable stay. Would recommend this hotel for the short stay that I had if you need a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dagnasty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Conveniently located close to I77. Nice friendly staff, rooms were fine. Included breakfast was great. Liked being able to walk to the family owned restaurant, although was surprised they didn't have any wine. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmomhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Needed a one night stay and this hotel was fine for that. The king size bed room was quite small. There was a very comfortable desk chair that was ridiculously too big for the small room. The shower was roomy but water pressure not at strong as I would like. Everything else about the room was fine though. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, We ate at the restaurant next door which was very mediocre but we were too tired to drive further.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aPhoenixmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 2772 Pennsylvania Ave, Charleston, WV 25302-4911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing